My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Amazing and perfect as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I have tried this recipe twice. The first time I tried it with the various modifications other reviewers suggested (butter over margarine, reduced bake temp, stirring more frequently, etc.). Today I followed the recipe EXACTLY and both my husband and I preferred today's results. Both attempts had good flavor, but today's version was crisper and didn't stick to the teeth...overall a better result. Follow the recipe and you will be pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I have made this and given as gifts for the last three Christmas's. The first year I made it as written, including the peanuts. The peanuts do not add much, so I have left them out the last two years. I have found that the oven temp at 250 gives me better results than the review suggested 200 degrees. I think this year I will try adding cranberries and almonds to one batch. I also use butter instead of margarine. Can't wait to make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This popcorn is crisp and just the way I like it. A few notes... putting it in "any old pan" might be a problem. I used a broiler pan and a cookie sheet with a lip; both of which are a bit darker in color and in the last 15 minutes I felt like the sugar coating might begin to burn so I pulled everything with 10 minutes to go. Next time I think I will use two of those disposal roasters because 1) they're lighter in color and 2) it will be MUCH easier to stir the mixture, and 3) I can toss them when I'm finished. My oven door saw a lot of popcorn that escaped but I think using a metal spatula was a good idea so I could easily scoop up the yummy caramel when mixing. I didn't have roasted peanuts so I threw in a couple handfuls of cocktail peanuts I had left over from another recipe. So good! (oh, and I'm going to drizzle chocolate on the next batch!) UPDATE: I took my own advice and used a roaster, putting all the popcorn and the caramel sauce into one pan. Still did the stir every 15 minutes. So good and much less mess... plus you don't have to guess how much of the sauce to put on each cookie sheet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Amazing! My family loves this, we call in Cracker "Crack" because we just can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Awesome! Even in spite of my failure to remember all the ingredients this was a hit. I used two bags of Orville Redenbacher's Naturals Simply Salted microwave popcorn. If you're like me and have never made caramel corn before, the thought of mixing the popcorn with the caramel mixture was a little daunting, but I decided to go with the paper bag idea. I sprayed the large grocery store paper bag with oil, poured the popcorn in and then poured the caramel mixture over. It was hot, duh. It mixed fairly easy, but in the stress of thinking about how to mix this I forgot to add the baking soda and vanilla to the caramel mixture and didn't remember till it was too late. I baked as stated on a cookie sheet sprayed with canola oil and allowed it to cool on parchment paper. Wow, this was amazing! I'm sure it would have been even better had I remember the baking soda and vanilla, but even with all the other goodies on Thanksgiving this caramel corn was gone fast. I'm still not sure if using the paper bag is the easiest way to cover the popcorn with the caramel, but it worked this time. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Excellent! As suggested by another reviewer, I mixed everything in a paper bag and baked at 200 degrees for half an hour, stirring once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Really yummy, classic caramel corn. I use agave in place of corn syrup and use a little less sugar. For me it never takes longer than 25-30 minutes in the oven to get nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is the best caramel corn ever!!! I make it every year for Christmas gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 989) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States