Mustard Sauce for Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I thought it was too sweet as well. I added a tablespoon of Dijon mustard, 1/4 tsp salt, approx 1/2 tsp dry rosemary. I cooked it an additional 5-10 minutes and strained out the rosemary and found the consistency almost perfect. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe! My husband hates vinegar and even he said this mustard was awesome. We have even used it just to dip pretzels in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very yummy! It went very well with the ham I cooked, perfect combo of salty and sweet. I did listen to some of the suggestions and used half the amount of sugar, and I just used regular white vinegar, also I did not have mustard powder, so I used prepard yellow mustard.(you have to use 2X the amount of perpard mustard vs. mustard powder) It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
The consistency was nice on this, however every person that ate it said it was too sweet. So if I ever made this again I would decrease the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was perfect with our Easter ham yesterday! Just a note: this can be easily done in the microwave. Whisk the milk and egg yolks together in a microwave safe bowl (I used a Pyrex measuring cup) then stir in the other ingredients. Nuke for 2 minutes and you're done. Great consistency and a nice tangy flavor. Like others, I used cider vinegar and added some tarragon. I also used 1/2 prepared Dijon mustard and 1/2 of the mustard powder/vinegar solution. Lastly, I used maple syrup instead of sugar. Will keep this one on file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
WoWzA! This was fabulous!!! I did decrease the sugar to 1/2 cup and used half and half instead of milk.....my family LOVED it and we will always keep this in our line-up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I thought this was a good sauce. I made it with white vinegar because that was all I had. I found it a little sweet, although that could be more my sensitivity then the recipe itself. It is the best mustard sauce recipe I have tried so far. Thank you Laurie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I used white wine vinegar as I decided to make this at the last minute and had no time to go to the store. Mine didn't get thick enough to put on the ham so I served it as a dip in a little dish - may have been my fault because I was a little rushed. I thought it was great, my husband says way too sweet. I might try again with less sugar or different vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I have tried a few different recipes and this one is the best!! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This sauce is to ham what icing is to a cake. It gave it the finishing touch. Made half a batch and there was lots. Didn't have tarragon vinegar so I used cider vinegar and it was still very good. Gave it four starts because I adapted the recipe. I'll always serve this sauce with ham in the future. It was a big hit and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States