Mustard Sauce for Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
We used this on corned beef and it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Very easy to make. Nice consistency. A bit too vinegary for me. I would add half the amount and then adjust to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Good recipe for a sauce that complements everything from eggs to kielbasa, etc. The only change I made was to use apple cider vinegar (all I had) and the sauce was delish. The only bit of advice I have to share is to not make this right before the company shows up - it fills the house with a vinegar smell as it comes to a boil...I was scrambling to be rid of the odor :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
The flavour of this vinegary, sweet sauce is good and complements ham well. However, the texture was floury. Half the recipe was enough for 3 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This sauce was excellent. Even my picky 5-year old liked it. I've read the other reviews and no one in my family thought this was too floury or too vinergary. It was the perfect combination of sweet and tart. A really nice sauce that I will make again! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Great sauce Laurie! I made it as written, except I substituted white vinegar for tarragon vinegar, because that's what we had here. Awesome on ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was great. The sauce was at the perfect consistency about four minutes after it started boiling and it was on low. I wasn't able to start serving at that point, though, and just kept it on the lowest setting I could and stirred it constantly. It was about 10 minutes from the point that it started boiling that I was able to serve it. The sauce was a little thicker than I would have preferred. It was a little filmy, but that was my fault. I substituted white vinegar for tarragon vinegar and added 1/8 t. salt and 1/8 t. lemon pepper seasoning. The flavor was wonderful. I served this over broiled tilapia and steamed snap peas. It was outstanding over the peas. It was a little overpowering for the tilapia, but I am going to try it over a heartier fish like salmon or mahi next time. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
What a great sauce. Mind blowing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good. I served this as a dip with our ham and swiss melts. Tasty. I haven't heard of tarragon vinegar so I used white vinegar and added some tarragon to the sauce. Turned out great. Will be in my keeper list. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was good, but honey mustard has very similar flavors and is a lot easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States