Mustard Oil Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
ALONG WITH THE RECIPE'S INGREDIENTS I USE 1/4 CUP OF DIJON MUSTARD, 1/2 TEASPOON OF MINCED FRESH GARLIC, A TEASPOON OF HONEY & 3 DROPS OF HOT SAUCE. USE THIS SWEET & TANGY RECIPE AS A BASE DRESSING.DELICIOUS ON CHICKEN WALNUT SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Yummy! The name does not do it justice - maybe Dijon Vinaigrette would be better :D My French roommates in college used this to marinate cucumber slices in for a refreshing side/salad. I've been looking for the recipe for many years. Thanks for helping out! Oh, made it the other night with cucumber slices but added large chunks of fresh tomato for variety and color. Even the kids liked it so it lasted only one day after that dinner. The red wine vinegar I used was zingy so you could try 2/3 oil and 1/3 vinegar, if you like. Thanks for the memories that will repeat themselves in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I used this salad dressing over coldcorkscrew pasta, Black olive slices, crumbled feta cheese, diced red and green olives. Yoiu can also add diced celery, brocolli florets, cherry tomatoes, whatever you like. It goes so fast that you need to make another batch right away! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Great base recipe with a beautiful pink color. I like the ratio of vinegar, olive oil and vegetable oil. I prefer a bit of a vinegar punch. I add a honey mustard to sweeten it up a bit, a little more than a pinch of garlic and onion salt and then I crack fresh pepper over the salad at serving time to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by one man

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This dressing gets better & better the longer it sits in the fridge. We have used it on regular lettuce salads & added blue cheese or parmessan cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great recipe! I was trying to find a recipe similar to my grandmother's. I bought a pestle and mortar specifically to make her recipe and realized I had bought Dijon, but it should have been Grey Poupon. I think that does make a difference because this dressing is almost as good, but not quite the same. I ground minced garlic (store-bought), salt and pepper in the mortar, added the rest of ingredients, and whisked. Also, I topped with sliced olives. Very good!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I make this style dressing alot. It's great with the addition of fresh rosemary and diced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wow! This has to be one of the best dressings I've made on this site and I've made a lot. My husband who only likes corn as his vegetable of choice (unless forced to eat something else) and if I do manage to get him to eat a salad his first response for a dressing is "ranch" as if it's the only kind ever made. Well, we have a winner because he not only tried it, but ate an entire bowl of salad plus asked for more and declared it a keeper. I did use 1/2 c. olive oil and 1/4 c. veg. oil (basically switching them) omitted the garlic salt and used 1-2 cloves of minced garlic, 1/4 tsp. of onion powder and added a bit of sugar until I got the desired sweetness. I would suggest a name change for this one to get more people to try it "Mustard Oil Dressing" is not nearly as appealing as "Dijon Vinaigrette".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My mom taught me to make this same thing, but we skip the onion and garlic powders, and use real pressed garlic instead, and we also add some basil. If you let it sit over night, it get's even better! I use it for pasta salad all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Light and delicious, with just the right amount of tangy flavor. The only changes I made were: 1) I used olive oil only (ran out of vegetable oil), 2) I used garlic powder rather than garlic salt. A really great dressing, and very easy to make. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States