Mustard Based BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
The idea of a mustard BBQ sauce really only hits home in South Carolina and Northern GA. It is very popular down there and is what I grew up on. This recipe is a little different, we use apple cider vinegar and less honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This is a great base sauce or paint for pork, especially ribs or pulled pork sandwiches. My personal taste leans towards something with more bite, so I add a hint of Worchestershire saucea, garlic powder, cayenne and chipotle pepper. The smoky flavor of the chipotle really accents the mustard/vinegar base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Wonderful!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
awesome recipe! we decreased the honey and brown sugar a bit, increased the vinegar, added garlic, ginger, paprika and a splash or two of vodka and poured a double batch over a large shredded pork butt and served it over rice. it was better than the best mustard bbq we had in the 12 years we lived in SC! SO excited to have this recipe! We have missed it since we moved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Really great recipe...allthough where I come from we call it Honey Mustard Sauce and not BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
In the cooking process I added 1/3 cup finely chopped yellow onions.. It seemed to round out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This sauce is fantastic for my sister-in-law since she is allergic to tomatoes, she really misses having BBQ sauce but having found this, she can again enjoy is basted on ribs or chicken it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalabee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
GREAT traditional Carolina mustard BBQ sauce. Very simple, but good and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
My fiancee was stationed in NC for years and this took him right back to his days in the Marines! I served the sauce over a pulled pork sandwich (made from loin) with toasted bun and carolina slaw on top! You made me look like a star! Color and favor were spot on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fulton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States