Mussels in Curry Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This is a good base recipe that I've made for mussels, shrimp, and crayfish tails. Spicewise, I find it a little too mild as is, so I ramp up the curry powder by using 2 tsp madras curry powder, a dash of hot pepper flakes, and 1 tsp salt. If you substitute some/all of the heavy cream with half-and-half, be sure to have cornstarch on hand to thicken everything up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
We loved this recipe! (except for Ashley) I used half and half and made two sauces; one with the curry and the other I subbed with dijon mustard. I served the mussels over thinly sliced toasted italian bread as an appetizer. Thanks Kerry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Very good. RICH RICH RICH !! I am going to make it again but use half and half next time. Thanks for the recipe, Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
If you like Curry and Garlic you will love this recipe!! I give it 2 thumbs up and an A+ to the taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I literally just made this. I doubled the entire recipe. There was three of us (two were men--who can EAT). There was just a few left. It was FANTASTIC!! This recipe DOES NOT need to be altered AT ALL. It was amazing just the way it was!! We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarinasMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Excellent! I followed the recipe to a t except I used half and half instead of cream. We had this on a bed of pasta but fresh bread to dip in the oh-so-yummy sauce would be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was great. I used a tablespoon of dijon mustard instead of curry as one reviewer suggested. It was exactly like the dish I order from a local restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINdaCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
really easy, everyone loved it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Oh boy, this is awesome. My husband and 24 yo son ate all of them making "mmm" noises throughout. Simple, savoury and delicious. At the mens' suggestion I might add some heat next time. Since I didn't get any to eat anyhow, I might as well cook it to their liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Oh, SO good. We have been searching for the perfect mussels since our trip to Paris. These were delicious. I did add a healthy pinch of saffron. I would cook the sauce down more next time before tossing in the mussels as it was a bit too thin, but otherwise great. Paired with French bread and homemade caesar salad = PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States