Mussel and Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Lovely dish. Switched out the water for chicken broth as reccomended by Jessica, and was thoroughly pleased. I admit that I cheated on the mussels and bought some five minute boil-in-th-bag ones in a garlic and herb sauce, but this only added to the flavour! In the end I did this as more of a broth than a stew. Potatoes came out lovely. Thanks for the recipe, Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torquay, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was ok, but wasn't that great. Adding chicken stock and wine did improve the flavour, but it didn't feel like a proper stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Excellent... couldn't stop eating! I made a few little changes, that I think really enhanced the flavor. I changed the 1/2 cup of water to 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I added some white wine after adding the broth, probably about 1/4C - 1/2C. I also added some crushed red pepper. After the musssels opened, I turned the heat down and let it simmer for a while so the potatoes and mussels would absorb the broth/wine flavor. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Great dish for Spring and Summer. Nice, mild flavor and great mix of colors for plating on the table. I cut the brocolli stems at about 2 inches long, would cut at 1 inch next time for easier eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
The mussels were delicate, the potatoes tender and sweet, and the broccoli rabe added a tinge of sharpness to the stew. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I love Mussels and I love broccoli, but together they just didn't seem right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This meal is great w/ a loaf of french bread and friends. I added onions to the anchovy, garlic, and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
I made a half recipe of this, and substituted white wine for the added water at the end. Quite tasty, and very simple to make. I'd consider adding some fresh dill or fennel next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States