Mushy Peas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
i dont really like peas, but used this recipe and added one diced new potato and minced garlic. It was soooo good, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
We had mushy peas whilst in England and this recipe tasted better than what we had over there. My husband, who is English, thought they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
My kids don't care for peas too much. When I made this, they were fighting over the last little bit! Very simple and GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIELYNN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Yummy! I have never eaten mushy peas before, but I like steamed peas, so I thought I'd give this a whirl. If you can get past the texture (I can see how it might be off-putting...), I think you'll enjoy this dish. If you're like my hubs, you probably won't (he compared this to pre-chewed peas lol!). :) If you like less "mushy" peas, reduce your blending time and/or amount of liquid called for. I found that 1/4 c. liquid and a good couple pulses in my blender was spot on (I have a powerful KitchenAid blender). I also found the amount of seasoning to be perfect as is with no need to season to taste afterwards. NOTE: I substituted a bag of "steamable" peas (i.e. the variety that you microwave, unopened) and fat-free half-n-half with EXCELLENT results (the latter cut out a LOT of calories!). Thanks for a perfect complement to my fish & chips dinner, Stella! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These were a hit! They looked gross but, were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I just made these peas except for steaming them instead of boiling them. After I steamed them I let them simmer in the cream. I added the s/p, butter, and then mashed them in my pot. It really improved the taste of the frozen peas. I liked them, and so did my family. I have made dried peas before and think those have better flavor than frozen, but unless you are trying to master a british recipe I don't think it is necessary to use dried peas. These didn't look or taste "frozen" after simmering in the cream. I think the taste improved the longer they simmered, too. I'm glad to have them add variety to my meals as an easy vegetable side. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delish! Yes, you have to like peas... but if you do, you're sure to enjoy this. I used a stick blender, rather than a food processor, which worked just fine, and half-and-half instead of heavy cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is great! Next time I will drain the peas (I used sweet canned) to have a thicker consistency, although a thinner consistency can be used as a soup or a "gravy". I added a half teaspoon of wasabi paste and 8 tablespoons sour cream as well as and 4 tablesppons minced garlic (I love my garlic). Hubby likes it too. I didn't have heavy cream, so i made some out of 1/4 cup regular milk and 2 tablespoons butter in addition to the 1 tablespoon butter called for in the original recipe. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Utmostrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These were okay. Not too exciting, but not untasty. Mine turned out a bit to watery. Be careful to drain well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Very tasty recipe. Kids liked it very much but hubby was neutral (he has to eat it anyways :P). Only different thing I did was boil 1/2 a small onion with the peas and then used my hand blender to puree everything. Oh and I used homo milk since that is all I had on hand and it worked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States