Mushrooms in White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I can't believe that this recipe isn't used OVER something like a pasta. It's SO rich. I made it exactly according to the recipe: but was using it as a sauce for linguine, and it was STILL too rich. I like the flavours, but I feel they need to be spread out a bit more than this recipe allows. I would say this recipe feeds 8, with pasta, at least. I would also use the veg oil instead of peanut oil: peanut oil adds too much extra flavouring... my $.02
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I hate mushrooms but made this for hubby as a treat with his steak. I used red wine and a beef bouillion cube and omitted the cornstarch as I had to leave this on the stove a bit longer due to the steaks finishing cooking than the recipe called for. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Nice recipe, however, I used marsala wine with this. I was just getting ready to add the cornstarch when I opted not to. It looked wonderful the way it was and my family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
As written, just average. Very good, however, after tinkering with the recipe. I used olive oil and a little butter rather than peanut or vegetable oil. NO water - I wanted sauteed mushrooms, not boiled; and no cornstarch. Loved the flavor of the basil with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good! I added just a splash of heavy cream and paired it with fettucine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
So I didn't have an onion and used a green onion, didn't have cornstarch and used flour, don't use chicken anything so I eliminated bouillon...needless to say it was awesome. I used it on top of horseradish mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe. I also omitted the flour, the thickness after simmering was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was a great side dish with our London broil tonight. Sliced up a red onion instead of using diced. Used red wine instead of white since I was serving red meat and didn't want to open another bottle. Also, didn't add the cornstarch because it wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This is very good, but quite rich for a side dish. I poured it over some almond-crusted chicken and brown rice, which was delicious. I used dry sherry wine and added a splash of heavy cream for a creamier color/texture. Overall, I would definitely recommend this recipe to be used as a gravy/sauce, but not to be eaten as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Excellent!!! It was a hit at a recent dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States