Mushrooms in White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I used this for a sauce over penne pasta. Used a vegetable bouillon as I'm vegetarian. Added steamed broccoli & peas to the pasta. Viola, dinner! Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This mushroom sauce can be used with anything! I've had it with a simple grilled chicken breast or baked cod/ tilapia filet, over various pastas, and also as a baked potato topping (add a little grated cheese). I use white wine or marsala wine (whatever I have on hand). If I have some cream or half and half in the fridge, I add a splash of that, but it's still great without. Definitely use fresh garlic - garlic powder just doesn't work as well. Delicious and versatile. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I've been making this low carb staple for years using sherry and a little sour cream. It's wonderful alone, on a baked potato and once I broiled it with guyere cheese on the top. Very versatile. I can't imagine anyone calling it 'rich', I don't use corn starch though,maybe that's why some called it rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Excellent!!! It was a hit at a recent dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was a great side dish with our London broil tonight. Sliced up a red onion instead of using diced. Used red wine instead of white since I was serving red meat and didn't want to open another bottle. Also, didn't add the cornstarch because it wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
So I didn't have an onion and used a green onion, didn't have cornstarch and used flour, don't use chicken anything so I eliminated bouillon...needless to say it was awesome. I used it on top of horseradish mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Simple, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
this recipe was de-LISH!!! instead of dry wine i used pinot grigio...a bit more than what was called for. in addition, i used flour instead of cornstarch with a pinch of lemon. i poured it over breaded chicken cutlets and a family recipe of the left over breadcrumbs, eggs and garlic from the breading of the cutlets. really, this recipe was easy to make and pleasantly wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
What's not to love? I did leave out the bouillon to let the wine - a nice Kendall-Jackson chardonnay- take more of a leading role. To the person who found this a bit rich... it could've been the sherry and heavy cream you added, though not called for at all in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Absolutely amazing. Made this with a portabella mushroom we received in our food co-op and served over a grilled steak, yum! I only used 1/2 c of water and added a Tbsp of butter and let it reduce down a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States