Mushrooms in White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I used this for a sauce over penne pasta. Used a vegetable bouillon as I'm vegetarian. Added steamed broccoli & peas to the pasta. Viola, dinner! Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LORNA MB
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I use vegetable oil and not nearly as much as was called for didn't need it and I didn't want this to turn out greasy. Instead of water I used beef broth because I had some if I had had chicken broth opened I would have used that instead of the water and chicken bouillon cube. Didn't used the cornstarch didn't need it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
thought 1/4 cup oil would be complete overload so substituted 1 T butter instead - used as a sauce over pasta with a parmesan cheese topping - was okay but not fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
What's not to love? I did leave out the bouillon to let the wine - a nice Kendall-Jackson chardonnay- take more of a leading role. To the person who found this a bit rich... it could've been the sherry and heavy cream you added, though not called for at all in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
this recipe was de-LISH!!! instead of dry wine i used pinot grigio...a bit more than what was called for. in addition, i used flour instead of cornstarch with a pinch of lemon. i poured it over breaded chicken cutlets and a family recipe of the left over breadcrumbs, eggs and garlic from the breading of the cutlets. really, this recipe was easy to make and pleasantly wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This mushroom sauce can be used with anything! I've had it with a simple grilled chicken breast or baked cod/ tilapia filet, over various pastas, and also as a baked potato topping (add a little grated cheese). I use white wine or marsala wine (whatever I have on hand). If I have some cream or half and half in the fridge, I add a splash of that, but it's still great without. Definitely use fresh garlic - garlic powder just doesn't work as well. Delicious and versatile. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Simple. I like it. I used asaparagus though instead of mushrooms since I didn't have any fresh ones (and I refuse to use anything canned in sauces!) and it still tasted great. Served on top of fusilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I've been making this low carb staple for years using sherry and a little sour cream. It's wonderful alone, on a baked potato and once I broiled it with guyere cheese on the top. Very versatile. I can't imagine anyone calling it 'rich', I don't use corn starch though,maybe that's why some called it rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Simple, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
After we made the mushrooms my daughter felt it would be better over something insteada of as a side so I put it over a fish and cooked it alittle more. It was delicious! Thanks, I've been looking for a good mushroom sauce (even tough that wasn't the intention here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States