Mushrooms and Spinach Italian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Too much vinegar ... also, the ingredient order doesn't seem to work. Next time I'll add the wine early, let it simmer a bit, then add the spinach at the last minute with a splash of balsalmic - that way the spinach won't lose all its volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Use a little less olive oil, and start with just 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, and 1/4 cup wine -- more can be added if you like..keep tossing spinach as it starts to wilt to keep combined with the mushrooms and onions, and sprinkle on some parmesean cheese just before serving....I will also add some diced and seeded Roma tomatoes at the very end before adding the cheese and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
A different and very tasty way to serve spinach. The balsamic vinegar gives it an interesting taste. Even though I used all 4 tbsp. of olive oil as the recipe indicates, I don't think all of it is really necessary. You could probably cut it in half without losing any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I am unfamiliar with Southern Italian cooking so I was curious and wanted to give this a shot. I am, however, quite familiar with sautéing spinach with garlic and olive oil, so it was basically cooking it with the wine and even more so the vinegar, that was something different for me. I was not prepared for just how much I would dislike this. First, even tho' I cooked the spinach at the end, after the wine and vinegar had cooked out, it was still overdone. Second, the wine and especially the balsamic vinegar, completely overtook the delicate flavor of the spinach with an unpleasant, overbearing tang. I'm afraid it was completely unpalatable to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was delicious. We made it without mushrooms (I don't like them) and we didn't have white wine so we used a splash of white wine vinegar and some water. I agree with the other posters who said you probably don't have to add quite that much olive oil. We ate it with scallops and rice and it was wonderful! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
Great recipe. My 8 year old son loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Nice flavor. I made this as directed, except omitting the onion for no reason other than I didn't feel like chopping one. Next time, I would probably use more spinach and add it later in the process as it got a little overcooked for my taste. Good stuff, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Was pretty tasty over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Beth S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This has become one of my favorite recipes to make! It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASHKAYDOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Restaurant quality sidedish, definitely a keeper! Used 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 small onion (chopped), 3 cloves garlic (minced), 8 large mushrooms (sliced), 1/2 bag of spinach (not chopped), 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1/4 cup white wine, s&p and no parsley. It only took about 20 minutes to make, too! As per past reviews, I added the spinach last (after the vinegar and white wine had reduced), so that the greens wouldn't be overcooked. Also, next time, I will use 2/3 bag of spinach as 1/2 a bag was just barely enough for 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States