Mushrooms and Spinach Italian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Nice flavor. I made this as directed, except omitting the onion for no reason other than I didn't feel like chopping one. Next time, I would probably use more spinach and add it later in the process as it got a little overcooked for my taste. Good stuff, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Definitely use less wine in this. I usually add some fresh cut up asparagus to it, if I have on hand. My family enjoys this recipe.This is a good basic recipe that can be enhanced to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Was pretty tasty over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Beth S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was delicious. We made it without mushrooms (I don't like them) and we didn't have white wine so we used a splash of white wine vinegar and some water. I agree with the other posters who said you probably don't have to add quite that much olive oil. We ate it with scallops and rice and it was wonderful! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I really liked this, but my boyfriend wasn't crazy about the wine. It definitely adds a distinct flavor--it reminds me of the sauteed mushrooms you get in a nice restaurant. I was generous with the salt and pepper, and it definitely improved the flavor. The only change I'd make is to add more spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Use a little less olive oil, and start with just 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, and 1/4 cup wine -- more can be added if you like..keep tossing spinach as it starts to wilt to keep combined with the mushrooms and onions, and sprinkle on some parmesean cheese just before serving....I will also add some diced and seeded Roma tomatoes at the very end before adding the cheese and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Love this recipie - I use a little less white wine, though. I make this all the time, especially with the Garlic Marinated Steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lyndon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Too much vinegar ... also, the ingredient order doesn't seem to work. Next time I'll add the wine early, let it simmer a bit, then add the spinach at the last minute with a splash of balsalmic - that way the spinach won't lose all its volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This was awesome-very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
We thought this was OK. I reduced the balsamic vinegar and wine a bit. After the cooking was done, it just didn't look very appealing. Tasted better than it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States