Mushrooms and Spinach Italian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I am unfamiliar with Southern Italian cooking so I was curious and wanted to give this a shot. I am, however, quite familiar with sautéing spinach with garlic and olive oil, so it was basically cooking it with the wine and even more so the vinegar, that was something different for me. I was not prepared for just how much I would dislike this. First, even tho' I cooked the spinach at the end, after the wine and vinegar had cooked out, it was still overdone. Second, the wine and especially the balsamic vinegar, completely overtook the delicate flavor of the spinach with an unpleasant, overbearing tang. I'm afraid it was completely unpalatable to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I cut the olive oil in half to make it healthier and threw in some yellow and red bell for extra nutrition and color. Oh and I used baby spinach leaves so there was no need to chop. This is one I will definitely make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I used wine vinegar instead of balsamic. Very good side for bolognese pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great, easy recipe. Based on other reviews I omitted the vinegar. I also let the spinach cook down and added about a dozen whole grape tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Restaurant quality sidedish, definitely a keeper! Used 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 small onion (chopped), 3 cloves garlic (minced), 8 large mushrooms (sliced), 1/2 bag of spinach (not chopped), 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1/4 cup white wine, s&p and no parsley. It only took about 20 minutes to make, too! As per past reviews, I added the spinach last (after the vinegar and white wine had reduced), so that the greens wouldn't be overcooked. Also, next time, I will use 2/3 bag of spinach as 1/2 a bag was just barely enough for 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
A great combination of flavors. However, I did use only 1 Tbsp. olive oil. I've already made this twice and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I am always up for trying a new healthy side dish to go along with my main dish but i don't think this was it. I couldn't account for all the calories in a mediocre dish. It could have been my own flaw when cooking it, but i felt the wine and balsamic vinegar over powered the dish. I really love mushrooms and spinach but I couldn't taste them. i would be willing to try it again using half the wine, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I've been lookn for haelthy dishes. I found this one and decided to try it. I read the reviews and found the very helpful. I added may spinach after the white wine cooked down a bit and used the little bit of vinegar leftover in the measuring cup for a bit extra. Alittle sea salt and the pepper. It was very tasty. I ate it with coucous. I made one serving and it was very filling. A recipe that I am going to use again. ALSO if you don't have time or can't chop onions(Ican't) I bought pre chopped onions and pre sliced portabelo mushrooms. This saved me time and my eyes didn't burn all night. For quick and tastey this one is great. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I omited the vinigar and used frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NarumKnits

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States