Mushrooms and Spinach Italian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe was an instant hit for my entire family. I substituted the wine for apple juice and used 6 cloves of garlic instead of two. (We are garlic lovers). It is important to allow the vinegar time to reduce before you pour in the white wine, (or in my case apple juice) while stirring it constantly.This allows it time to intermingle with the garlic, onions,vegetables and pick up the flavors. I did this on high heat in a stir fry motion. ( I do a lot of Asian cooking). It doesn't take long to reduce this way. Then when the pan was good and hot I poured in the apple juice, watched it sizzle and brought it to a fast bubble while stirring - and then quickly reduced the temperature of the pan and brought it to a slow bubble and allowed it to reduce and thicken to a creamy sauce. Not runny. This dish is fast and I make it right before serving. I am making this again tomorrow at the request of my children for Easter. My plan is to slightly caramelize the onions this time in bacon drippings and then add the garlic and saute the vegetables. I'll let you know how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Delicious, I made the recipe as the Most helpful Positive Reviewer, with less olive oil and less balsamic. I used Chardonnay a splash more, about 1/3 cup. I used jarred garlic in olive oil from California. Served with noodles and Italian style beef roast. My husband is swooning, lucky me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Husband who is not a spinach fan said he would eat it again! Made these changes which I liked: 1) use whole baby spinach, and use a Dutch oven (or some sort of deep pan) so you can dump all the spinach in at once, 2) reduce oil used to 1-2 tbs, 3) reduce wine used to 1/4 cup, 4) add baby spinach at end, after vinegar and wine are only partially reduced. Note: recipe can handle more than 10 ounces spinach, I used 12 and could probably have had more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Yum! I performed a recipe search for a vegetarian main dish with spinach and mushrooms. This recipe was one that came up in the search. To make it a main dish I added a can of Great Northern Beans. I would have preferred cannellini beans but didn't have them. Next time I will try them instead. As suggested by several reviewers, I reduced the olive oil to about 2 tablespoons, the white white to 1/4 cup, and the balsamic vinegar to 1 tablespoon. I cooked the onions over a low heat to just caramelizing and then added the garlic (I doubled the garlic because we like extra garlic) to cook for a couple more minutes before adding the mushrooms. After a couple minutes I added the wine. I rinsed the beans and added them. Finally the last couple of minutes I added to spinach and cooked until wilted. I added a handful of halved grape tomatoes. Mixed it all together, turned off the heat and stirred in the vinegar. I served it over rotini. At the table I had fresh grated parmesan available. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Liked it, especially for an easy, attractive, healthful side dish. Could have had a little more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I loved it! I've never cooked fresh spinach before and I followed the directions as is and it turned out great! The only thing I did different was cut the recipe in half and I forgot about the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janille MacLean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
love this recipe! The combination of mushroom and spinach was great. I served it as a side to some grill lamp chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrangW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was super. I am not a spinach lover. It is too bitter for me. I am trying to teach my kids to eat a variety of foods. I sometimes have to eat spinach to convince them that greens are their friends. I actually loved this! I used chicken broth instead of white wine because I forgot to buy wine. I also added a few red pepper flakes after tasting it and decided it needed a little more "something". I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
We will definitely be making this again. My son dislikes cooked spinach and hates mushrooms, and even he liked this. The ingredient order worked just fine for me. I will, however, halve the liquid ingredients so that I don't wind up with as much on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States