Mushrooms and Spinach Italian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Liked it, especially for an easy, attractive, healthful side dish. Could have had a little more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I loved it! I've never cooked fresh spinach before and I followed the directions as is and it turned out great! The only thing I did different was cut the recipe in half and I forgot about the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawksmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
love this recipe! The combination of mushroom and spinach was great. I served it as a side to some grill lamp chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrangW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was super. I am not a spinach lover. It is too bitter for me. I am trying to teach my kids to eat a variety of foods. I sometimes have to eat spinach to convince them that greens are their friends. I actually loved this! I used chicken broth instead of white wine because I forgot to buy wine. I also added a few red pepper flakes after tasting it and decided it needed a little more "something". I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
We will definitely be making this again. My son dislikes cooked spinach and hates mushrooms, and even he liked this. The ingredient order worked just fine for me. I will, however, halve the liquid ingredients so that I don't wind up with as much on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Great way to use fresh spinach. I didn't bother chopping the spinach since it wilts down. I did add 4 cloves of garlic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I doubled this recipe and served it with Garlic herb pork tenderloin from this site. It was really good but it had to cook a long time for the balsamic vinegar to evaporate. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
12-2-11; Pretty good, but turned out too watery - takes a long time to reduce the wine/vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love spinach and mushroom sautee. I am familiar with olive oil, garlic and white wine but the balsamic vinegar mixed in was completely different for me. I was game to try anything new. Thou I sometimes like the slightly stronger taste of vinegar (with other dishes) I know balsamic vinegar can overpower the taste of other ingredients with its "sweet and sour" complex flavors. I sauteed the mushrooms with about 2T of olive oil and red onions, garlic then added the white wine and let it cook down. I added almost 1/2 T of vinegar, to taste. The spinach was added last as it cooks down really fast. Hubs liked the flavor of balsamic vinegar but that is all he could taste-not the wine, spinach or mushrooms. I thought the taste was ok but I am glad that I did not add the full amount of vinegar, olive oil and white wine the recipe asks for as I am afraid it would have been much too overpowering for the spinach and mushroom. This balsamic vinegar gave the mushroom and spinach sautee a different taste. Then again you would have to like the "sweet and sour" flavor of balsamic vinegar. I also don't think you needed to add that much olive oil, white wine and/or balsamic vinegar. For myself I just eye-balled the amount and add to taste as I sautee. I finished this off with some seasoned Hawaiian sea salt, fresh ground black pepper and then garnished with fresh chopped italian flat leaf parsely. If I were to make this again I would cut back even more on the balsamic vinegar to 1/2 - 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States