Mushrooms Berkeley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Yummo! I made this tonight to put over sirlon steaks and it is delicious! I love mushrooms and this is a great way to use them. I followed the recipe exactly as far as ingredients, but I let it simmer for about 15-20 mins to reduce the strong flavor of the dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Awesome with steak. Used Portobella mushrooms and red onion as that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wernet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Use less sugar - I used a couple tablespoons of maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
A keeper, delicious! I used 1 tbs. of brown sugar per other suggestions. I used sherry cooking wine and whole grain mustard. Served with a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum! I skipped the brown sugar as others have mentioned, but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did cut down on the butter though, and I sprinkled in a little parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I meant to add that I usually triple the vegetables but only double the sauce to make more. I cook over high heat until the sauce starts to thicken and then slowly decrease the heat and stir more frequently to keep it from sticking. I find it takes a good long time for the thickening to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The original recipe is definitely 5 star. It calls for 1/2 bell pepper (green) cut in 1 inch chunks in addition to the onions (regular yellow is fine) and mushrooms. Also, the cooking time after adding the sauce is more like 45 minutes. It cooks down to a lovely thick state, "nasty looking" according to the original, but absolutely wonderful on toasts at a party. Try using tamari as a sub for Worcestershire (as my friend who gave me this years ago advised.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dory Benninger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We liked this a lot. So much flavor, and very good the next day too. I served these mushrooms with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Rave reviews from our dinner guests! I did reduce the sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
A great change from everyday mushrooms and onions. The only change I made was to use 2 tbsp. of maple syrup instead of brown sugar with Merlot for the wine. I used the sauce to de-glaze the pan and added the mushroom mixture back into it after the sauce had reduced a bit. Served them over grilled pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States