Mushrooms Berkeley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Use less sugar - I used a couple tablespoons of maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
A keeper, delicious! I used 1 tbs. of brown sugar per other suggestions. I used sherry cooking wine and whole grain mustard. Served with a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Yummo! I made this tonight to put over sirlon steaks and it is delicious! I love mushrooms and this is a great way to use them. I followed the recipe exactly as far as ingredients, but I let it simmer for about 15-20 mins to reduce the strong flavor of the dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I meant to add that I usually triple the vegetables but only double the sauce to make more. I cook over high heat until the sauce starts to thicken and then slowly decrease the heat and stir more frequently to keep it from sticking. I find it takes a good long time for the thickening to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We liked this a lot. So much flavor, and very good the next day too. I served these mushrooms with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The original recipe is definitely 5 star. It calls for 1/2 bell pepper (green) cut in 1 inch chunks in addition to the onions (regular yellow is fine) and mushrooms. Also, the cooking time after adding the sauce is more like 45 minutes. It cooks down to a lovely thick state, "nasty looking" according to the original, but absolutely wonderful on toasts at a party. Try using tamari as a sub for Worcestershire (as my friend who gave me this years ago advised.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Awesome with steak. Used Portobella mushrooms and red onion as that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Rave reviews from our dinner guests! I did reduce the sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
A great change from everyday mushrooms and onions. The only change I made was to use 2 tbsp. of maple syrup instead of brown sugar with Merlot for the wine. I used the sauce to de-glaze the pan and added the mushroom mixture back into it after the sauce had reduced a bit. Served them over grilled pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum! I skipped the brown sugar as others have mentioned, but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did cut down on the butter though, and I sprinkled in a little parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

How to Clean Mushrooms

Watch tips for cleaning, prepping, and storing all types of mushrooms.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States