Mushrooms Berkeley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I would leave out the sugar. Was good with it, but I think it would be better without. Very nice way to serve mushrooms. I used a Malbec wine and served it with a pot roast I cooked in the pressure cooker (no gravy). Edit: I tried it again without the sugar and it was much better. Next time I am going to try white wine which will make a nicer looking sauce - the red wine and the mustard make it muddy looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum! I skipped the brown sugar as others have mentioned, but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did cut down on the butter though, and I sprinkled in a little parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
A keeper, delicious! I used 1 tbs. of brown sugar per other suggestions. I used sherry cooking wine and whole grain mustard. Served with a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Use less sugar - I used a couple tablespoons of maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We liked this a lot. So much flavor, and very good the next day too. I served these mushrooms with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Awesome with steak. Used Portobella mushrooms and red onion as that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pessimist01
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is very sweet if you follow the recipe. I pored it over grilled turkey breasts. If i make it again I will use less sugar or even some local honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pessimist01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Lead, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great recipe. After reading the other reviews. I came up with these changes. I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar,1/2 stick of butter, 1Tablespoon of Dijon mustard &1 Tablespoon of harvest coarse ground mustard.Great favor. Not to sweet or to much butter. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
A great change from everyday mushrooms and onions. The only change I made was to use 2 tbsp. of maple syrup instead of brown sugar with Merlot for the wine. I used the sauce to de-glaze the pan and added the mushroom mixture back into it after the sauce had reduced a bit. Served them over grilled pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
pretty sweet i used less sugar but it is a good dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Clean Mushrooms

Watch tips for cleaning, prepping, and storing all types of mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Pinot-Glazed Mushrooms

See how to make a great mushroom topping for hamburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States