Mushrooms Berkeley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Awesome with steak. Used Portobella mushrooms and red onion as that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wernet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I would leave out the sugar. Was good with it, but I think it would be better without. Very nice way to serve mushrooms. I used a Malbec wine and served it with a pot roast I cooked in the pressure cooker (no gravy). Edit: I tried it again without the sugar and it was much better. Next time I am going to try white wine which will make a nicer looking sauce - the red wine and the mustard make it muddy looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lottie Gilpin Bardoel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Use less sugar - I used a couple tablespoons of maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
A keeper, delicious! I used 1 tbs. of brown sugar per other suggestions. I used sherry cooking wine and whole grain mustard. Served with a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum! I skipped the brown sugar as others have mentioned, but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did cut down on the butter though, and I sprinkled in a little parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I meant to add that I usually triple the vegetables but only double the sauce to make more. I cook over high heat until the sauce starts to thicken and then slowly decrease the heat and stir more frequently to keep it from sticking. I find it takes a good long time for the thickening to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The original recipe is definitely 5 star. It calls for 1/2 bell pepper (green) cut in 1 inch chunks in addition to the onions (regular yellow is fine) and mushrooms. Also, the cooking time after adding the sauce is more like 45 minutes. It cooks down to a lovely thick state, "nasty looking" according to the original, but absolutely wonderful on toasts at a party. Try using tamari as a sub for Worcestershire (as my friend who gave me this years ago advised.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dory Benninger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Yummo! I made this tonight to put over sirlon steaks and it is delicious! I love mushrooms and this is a great way to use them. I followed the recipe exactly as far as ingredients, but I let it simmer for about 15-20 mins to reduce the strong flavor of the dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pessimist01
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is very sweet if you follow the recipe. I pored it over grilled turkey breasts. If i make it again I will use less sugar or even some local honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pessimist01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Lead, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We liked this a lot. So much flavor, and very good the next day too. I served these mushrooms with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States