Mushrooms Berkeley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
A whole lot of sugar for us. Will make again with 1/2 the sugar. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great recipe. After reading the other reviews. I came up with these changes. I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar,1/2 stick of butter, 1Tablespoon of Dijon mustard &1 Tablespoon of harvest coarse ground mustard.Great favor. Not to sweet or to much butter. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
A great change from everyday mushrooms and onions. The only change I made was to use 2 tbsp. of maple syrup instead of brown sugar with Merlot for the wine. I used the sauce to de-glaze the pan and added the mushroom mixture back into it after the sauce had reduced a bit. Served them over grilled pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
pretty sweet i used less sugar but it is a good dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Rave reviews from our dinner guests! I did reduce the sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We liked this a lot. So much flavor, and very good the next day too. I served these mushrooms with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pessimist01
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is very sweet if you follow the recipe. I pored it over grilled turkey breasts. If i make it again I will use less sugar or even some local honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pessimist01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Lead, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Yummo! I made this tonight to put over sirlon steaks and it is delicious! I love mushrooms and this is a great way to use them. I followed the recipe exactly as far as ingredients, but I let it simmer for about 15-20 mins to reduce the strong flavor of the dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The original recipe is definitely 5 star. It calls for 1/2 bell pepper (green) cut in 1 inch chunks in addition to the onions (regular yellow is fine) and mushrooms. Also, the cooking time after adding the sauce is more like 45 minutes. It cooks down to a lovely thick state, "nasty looking" according to the original, but absolutely wonderful on toasts at a party. Try using tamari as a sub for Worcestershire (as my friend who gave me this years ago advised.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I meant to add that I usually triple the vegetables but only double the sauce to make more. I cook over high heat until the sauce starts to thicken and then slowly decrease the heat and stir more frequently to keep it from sticking. I find it takes a good long time for the thickening to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

How to Clean Mushrooms

Watch tips for cleaning, prepping, and storing all types of mushrooms.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States