Mushrooms Berkeley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
These mushrooms are great made like this. Two tips: if you'd like them more tangy leave out the brown sugar. Put half a teaspoon in for a balanced taste. To have them on the sweeter side, feel free to add more of the brown sugar. It is up to you and it's a matter of taste. To mine I add a teaspoon or less of the sugar and they have always been a hit. Then if you'd like to have your mushrooms softer, wait and add the sauce after they have become browner. If you'd like them firmer at the end, then add the sauce as they begin to brown but are still somewhat firm. Normally, I continue to cook them in the skillet over medium heat for another 10mins after adding the sauce. They are great as a side to chicken or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This recipe is excellent. It is a keeper. I unfortunately had to use Sherry as I had no red wine. However, the outcome was spectacular. I put it as a side for the Breaded Pork Chops posted in this website....EXCELLENT combination! I followed the recommendations of others who suggest to forgo the sugar. I do agree this recipe without it is perfect. Personally, I do not like to add sugar to plates that are not desserts or sweets. I am definitely doing this again. Now, at the moment I had to reduce the recipe for 2 people and noticed that there was a bit of extra sauce which my hubby wipped off from the plate with some crusty bread....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Wonderful. Even my veggie hating son enjoyed them. Will definitely become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Being of Czech, actually Bohemian, descent I grew up with mushrooms of all sorts. Pickled, sauted, dried, raw, deep fried puff balls, you name it, we ate it. Heck we even put them on ice cream! Just kidding. This recipe is great. Never did the brown sugar thing before, but love the sweetness. If it's too sweet cut it down or out. Whatever trips your palate. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
OMG...Try this. Great on Chicken or Beef. I only had 2 boneless chicken breats and made the Mushrooms before starting. Just added a little brown sugar for my taste. I did a quick pound and egg dip with your choice of Flour/Spice coating. Just spoon the Mushroom/Sauce over the Chicken after browning on both sides for about 4 min. each side or until golden brown. Adjust the recipe to the amout of protien being cooked. Very adaptable recipe. It's a go to when a change up with Mushrooms is wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious. I used 1 1/2 lbs of mushrooms and only 5T of butter. I might decrease the sugar next time, but it was wonderful with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
A whole lot of sugar for us. Will make again with 1/2 the sugar. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great recipe. After reading the other reviews. I came up with these changes. I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar,1/2 stick of butter, 1Tablespoon of Dijon mustard &1 Tablespoon of harvest coarse ground mustard.Great favor. Not to sweet or to much butter. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
A great change from everyday mushrooms and onions. The only change I made was to use 2 tbsp. of maple syrup instead of brown sugar with Merlot for the wine. I used the sauce to de-glaze the pan and added the mushroom mixture back into it after the sauce had reduced a bit. Served them over grilled pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
pretty sweet i used less sugar but it is a good dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States