Mushroom in the Middle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I tried this wonderful sounding recipe. I added extra mushrooms and some sausage to the mixture. We found it to be surprisingly a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I just didn't care for this, think it was the sausage that I didn't care for in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fuzzymildew
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a big hit. I added a bit to the meat, such as a stick of celery, some ketchup, steak sauce, & cheese (in the middle & on top). It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzymildew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was an AWESOME recipe. Blew my mother's meatloaf out of the water!! I did, however, just mix the mushroom soup into the meat mixture and made meatloaf muffins in a muffin tins. BIG HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Really good recipe, I have passed it on to many friends and they all love it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and put half of the soup right into my meat mixture, and add a half package of dry oinion soup mix. Mixing the soup right into the meat is just faster and less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Very good meatloaf. My whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This came out really good! I substituted the seasoned bread crumbs with panko and 2 tsp italian seasoning, omitted the salt, used italian turkey sausage and added a Lipton's onion soup mix as another reviewer suggested. I also didn't have any green pepper but added chopped green beans instead which added a nice crunch. Came out really tasty and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I don't usually like meatloaf but was requested to make it. I found this and read thru the reviews and modified as follows: I used beef because that’s what I had. I also added fresh mushrooms inside and out. I used minced garlic and mixed the seasoned bread crumbs with spicy fish batter. I spread the meat out on plastic wrap leaving the edges a little higher and spread the soup on and then the fresh mushrooms. I lifted the plastic wrap as I rolled the meat up and sealed the ends as I went to keep the soup in. I had no mess! I put it in the pan with the seam down. I cooked it in a glass covered oval because it didn’t fit in my loaf pan. When I got it out to put the soup on and more fresh mushrooms I used a syringe to suck out the grease that had drained to the bottom. I making it today with cream of celery instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA
Living In: South Gibson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Try this neat trick that I accidently realized while trying to figure how I was going to roll the meat over the soup mix. I had the meat shaped into the loaf and I cut a "wedge" of meat off the top and made a "well" in the meat and poured the soup into it and with the meat I cut off I shaped it to cover the wedge I had made and placed over the soup mix and it was easy to lift and handle as if it had nothing to spill. It worked like a charm and the meatloaf was excellent. I also added a packet of onion soup mix to the meat because I read that it was a tad bland. This is the best meatloaf I had ever tasted and it's the first meatloaf I didn't have to make a gravy for. This will be my new recipe for meatloaf and will definitely make many more times. Thanks for posting this great recipe. R.G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
THis is the best meatloaf I have ever tasted and it will become part of our regular dinner entrees in the future. My boyfriend loved it and is actually excited about eating leftovers today! (For once) I did have to bake for about 15 minutes longer to cook through the middle, but ovens vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States