Mushroom in the Middle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Very messy. But my boyfriend really liked it and he hates meatloaf. I thought it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I tried Mushroom in the Middle Meatloaf yesterday for dinner. I thought it was the best meatloaf I've tasted. It is a little messy before getting it in the pan but definitely worth it. I patted it out and rolled it on plastic wrap and after placing the meatloaf in the pan, just gathered up the mess and threw it away! Even my husband, who isn't fond of meatloaf liked it. In fact, he took the leftovers to work with him for lunch. I'm going to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
My family realy likes Mushrooms. the only change I made to this recapie was to add sliced mushrooms befor rolling it into the loaf. Other then that a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
At this time, this is the best meatloaf recipe on this site. I will try to beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
WOW. Incredible recipe! I used Contadina brand Italian-Style breadcrumbs, I think that really gave it a nice flavor. I also used spicy sausage rather than mild(the cream soup will tone it down). Also added fresh sliced mushrooms to the middle before rolling it up, and had some leftover, so added the rest on top at the same time I topped it with the remaining soup. I recommend spraying a piece of aluminum foil with non-stick spray and spreading the meat on it. Then you can use the foil to help roll it up. It also makes for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONKADOODLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This recipe is a keeper. I used lean turkey sausage and lean ground turkey, and it was soooo moist! The only changes I made was that I used fresh garlic, and I also put half of the mix in, topped it with the soup, then put the remaining mix on top instead of trying to roll it. It made a clear division in the loaf when I tried to remove it from the pan after baking, but it tasted awesome. DO TRY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This recipe was good. The sausage made the difference in taste and texture. I also added slices of swiss cheese in the middle, before I layered on the soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I loved this recipe, I'm not a big fan of normal meatloaf with ketchup and everything so this makes it just right for me. My husband also really liked this, he gave it 4 stars ....he had seconds and that is a rare thing! Definantly try it!!! I added a can of mushrooms to the mix and it was awesome! I would rate it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
THIS IS A REAL KEEPER WITH A FEW CHANGES. I ADDED SOME FENNEL TO THE SAUCE TO "KICK IT UP A NOTCH", USED RED PEPPER FOR TASTE AND COLOR, AND HALVED THE RECIPE AS I AM A SINGLE PERSON. QUICK AND DELICIOUS AND IS NOW IN MY MAKE ONCE A WEEK COLLECTION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Glucksman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I have made this recipe for years, but I put the mushroom soup right in the meat mixture. I also add a package of onion soup mix for extra flavor. It makes the most moist meatloaf! Other additons are chopped celery, a handful of parmesan cheese. I call it cleaning out the frig. meatloaf. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States