Mushroom and Onion Vegetarian Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Skeptical before making but this turned out surprisingly tasty, simple, quick, and healthy to boot. Subbed Taco Seasoning I from this site rather than using commercially made brands. If feeding people with appetites of sparrows or who are dieting, the portion size will probably be fine. Otherwise, consider whether a ‘serving size’ of 2 tortillas with minimal filling will be enough unless serving side dishes. The AR photo is misleading as there is no way that is 1/8 of the tortilla filling in each shell (i.e., 1/8 of a medium onion and 3/8 of a mushroom cap). If making again, use at least 4 large mushroom caps (1 per person) and 1 large or 2 medium onions. Fantastic recipe when wanting lighter fare, especially during the hot summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made these tonight and they were excellent! I used corn tortillas, lightly fried. For toppings I used homemade guacamole, some Greek yogurt, and a sweet salsa to balance the earthiness of the tacos (any fruity salsa like mango should do.) My wife and I both loved them and never felt like the mushrooms were just a substitute for meat. The mushroom and onion combination made this a complete dish and we did not miss the meat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Amazing! Wish I would have ate more. This is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This recipe sounded a little odd to me at first but it turned out delicious! My husband is not a huge mushroom fan but he loved these and asked for them again a day later. I made the recipe exactly as written except we didn't have queso cheese so we just sprinkled some Kraft mexican blend cheese on top - it was delish! We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
The mushrooms are a great option for that meaty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I am a vegetarian, and even my meat eating husband loved these! Quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I am always looking for a good and quick vegetarian recipe and was truely impressed by this mushroom recipe. My husband also enjoyed it! I plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Meh. Using mushrooms as a taco "meat" is a really good idea. It's a good idea, but the seasoning was way too salty. I might make this again, using my own salt-free taco seasoning. I made my own whole wheat tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States