Mushroom and Mascarpone Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe is amazing. To keep the ravs from coming apart while cooking use a pastry wheel to seal the edges and when you drop these in the boiling water immediatly lower the boil to a simmer. I make a roasted red pepper alfredo sauce to go with these and I use portabella mushrooms. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
The filling was restaurant quality, and instead of making ravioli, I shaped each won-ton wrapper into tortellini and I didn't lose a single one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charleycancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Shelton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was so yummy! I used the Basic Pasta recipe, formed ravioli and filled with this recipe to make a delicious rich dinner. I didn't have Marscapone so I used cream cheese, and subbed green onions for shallots. So tasty. You could really taste everything. It was restaurant quality. I will definitely make it again. I didn't even try to use wonton wrappers. Use the Basic Pasta recipe. Easier than I thought! I needed a sauce to top the ravioli and used the tomato cream sauce from Chicken Milano. My husband went nuts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosabela
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
The filling was very yummy but I followed the other reviewers' suggestion and made my own pasta.Mrs.Payne suggested the "Basic Pasta" recipe from this site and I made it as is, only to find out that it wasn't enough and should have DOUBLED the recipe.I used water to seal the ravioli together, pressed the edges together, and used a small pizza cutter to cut them apart.Then I made my own rosee tomato sauce (in a large frying pan heat 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat; saute 2 chopped garlic cloves till slightly golden; remove pan from burner, wait a moment for the simmering to ease up and add 500 ml/2 cups of crushed tomato sauce and a couple tablespoons of water-be careful not to splash yourself; return pan to burner, turn the heat to low, cover and let simmer for another 15-20 minutes until thickened, stirring occasionally; remove from burner, add 1 tbsp chopped fresh basil, season with salt and pepper to taste, and gently stir in 3 tbsp of cream), and my husband said that it complimented the ravioli very well.When cooking the ravioli, bring a large pot of salted water to a SIMMER and cook 4-6 at a time till they float to the top.However, don't overcook them.Once they float to the top, let it cook a few more moments until the "doughy" look is gone.UPDATE: made with wonton wrappers and worked just as great. In order for them not to fall apart, BRING THE WATER TO A SIMMER, not to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The filling is absolutely unbelievably melt in your mouth amazing! Even for a mere "mushrooms are just ok and sometimes I pick em out of stuff" kinda eater like me. No, the wonton wrappers are not ideal but oh so easy it makes up for it! A few hints about wonton wrappers. They are NOT all created equal!! The kind from regular grocery stores are often thin and cheap thus harder to use and more chance of ripping. if you get a chance, get some from an actual asian market, however the "nasoya" brand from wal-mart are better then others. It makes a HUGE HUGE HUGE difference! For all of those who lost filling... 1) USE BETTER WONTON WRAPPERS! 2) you MUST make sure that every tiny part of the 'seam' is completley pinched shut! 3) do not over stuff or the filling will burst the seams. 4) squeeze all of the air out. That promotes ripping! A change I think I'll make permenant is to add some chopped spinach. Defrost, squeeze out all the liquid as possible, mix in when you add the cheese. To seal I just used beaten egg, no milk. Topped it off with "newman's own" vodka sauce. compliments it nicely! YUUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. The stuffing was absolutely delicious!! We did not have any problems with the wonton wrappers but we steamed them wrather than boiled and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Better than Olive Garden! I changed the mushrooms to portobello as I like their flavour better, plus I was looking to duplicate Olive Garden's portobello ravioli. I also used dried herbs; 1tsp dried rather than 1 tbps fresh. I'm certain the flavours would be stronger with the fresh herbs. I also used the basic pasta recipie as I'm not a fan of wonton wrapper ravioli. This recipe was creamy and flavourful. To duplicate the sauce I used a sundried tomato alfredo with 1 cup of smoked edam cheese melted in. Top with fresh disced tomatos and green onions and it's not just like Olive Garden, it's better! YUM! Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Woohoo, these are amazing, and I had to use dried thyme so I imagine they would be even better with fresh. I made tortellini using only one wrapper for each. This is pretty labour intensive, so I doubt that I would make it for a dinner party, but cooking for 1 or 2 people would be absolutely worth it. Tnanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I make these every time I want to impress someone. They come out delicious every time! I skip the egg and milk, and just use water. It seems to hold the wontons together better. Also, wait for the mushrooms to cool almost completely before adding them to the cheese (which should be at room temp). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Great filling! I used thick wonton wrappers, available at asian market, and had no trouble with leaking ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States