Mushroom and Mascarpone Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
The filling for this is yummy. I only used 3/4 of the marscapone & added some parmesan to make up the rest. I didn't have any problems with the wonton wrappers. Made tortillini shapes instead of ravioli (using just the one wrapper for each piece of pasta) and just had the water simmering instead of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by rosabela
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
The filling was very yummy but I followed the other reviewers' suggestion and made my own pasta.Mrs.Payne suggested the "Basic Pasta" recipe from this site and I made it as is, only to find out that it wasn't enough and should have DOUBLED the recipe.I used water to seal the ravioli together, pressed the edges together, and used a small pizza cutter to cut them apart.Then I made my own rosee tomato sauce (in a large frying pan heat 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat; saute 2 chopped garlic cloves till slightly golden; remove pan from burner, wait a moment for the simmering to ease up and add 500 ml/2 cups of crushed tomato sauce and a couple tablespoons of water-be careful not to splash yourself; return pan to burner, turn the heat to low, cover and let simmer for another 15-20 minutes until thickened, stirring occasionally; remove from burner, add 1 tbsp chopped fresh basil, season with salt and pepper to taste, and gently stir in 3 tbsp of cream), and my husband said that it complimented the ravioli very well.When cooking the ravioli, bring a large pot of salted water to a SIMMER and cook 4-6 at a time till they float to the top.However, don't overcook them.Once they float to the top, let it cook a few more moments until the "doughy" look is gone.UPDATE: made with wonton wrappers and worked just as great. In order for them not to fall apart, BRING THE WATER TO A SIMMER, not to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was so yummy! I used the Basic Pasta recipe, formed ravioli and filled with this recipe to make a delicious rich dinner. I didn't have Marscapone so I used cream cheese, and subbed green onions for shallots. So tasty. You could really taste everything. It was restaurant quality. I will definitely make it again. I didn't even try to use wonton wrappers. Use the Basic Pasta recipe. Easier than I thought! I needed a sauce to top the ravioli and used the tomato cream sauce from Chicken Milano. My husband went nuts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
The filling was restaurant quality, and instead of making ravioli, I shaped each won-ton wrapper into tortellini and I didn't lose a single one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charleycancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Shelton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers. The filling is amazing but the won top wraps didn't stay together all that well when boiled. I will definitely make these again but will make my own pasta next time. I also used a roasted red pepper alfredo which complimented it all perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was one of the most delicious fillings I have ever had, and is going into my cookbook 4ever! The one thing I did not do (based on what others said) was use the won ton wrappers. Instead, I decided on making my own fresh pasta and using a rippled edge cookie cutter to make the ravioli shape. It took a while. If I were going to do it from scratch I would have to start a 3pm to have it ready for dinner but so worth it. This is a great recipe! I gave the ravioli to others to try. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe is amazing. To keep the ravs from coming apart while cooking use a pastry wheel to seal the edges and when you drop these in the boiling water immediatly lower the boil to a simmer. I make a roasted red pepper alfredo sauce to go with these and I use portabella mushrooms. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
The filling for this ravioli was amazing. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to make ravioli. The problem I had was with the wonton wrappers. At least 1/2 of them opened up in the water. The 1/2 that survived seemed a bit slimey and I think this was due to using wonton wrappers rather than the normal pasta. I am hoping to find another use for this amazing filling, but I won't be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
5 Stars - for the filling 0 Stars - for using wonton wrapper Twice we used the wonton wrappers becasue the filling was so delicious. But it left a little something to be desired. Then, we got wise and learned how to make homemade pasta. WOW! Totally amazing filling. We just drizzle it with good olive oil and shave a little fresh parmesan over the top and it's perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States