Mushroom and Mascarpone Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Woohoo, these are amazing, and I had to use dried thyme so I imagine they would be even better with fresh. I made tortellini using only one wrapper for each. This is pretty labour intensive, so I doubt that I would make it for a dinner party, but cooking for 1 or 2 people would be absolutely worth it. Tnanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I used a mascarpone substitute recipe from this site and made my own pasta. I found the filling to be a little sweet oddly enough. I think I would made the filling again, but use mozzarella and parmesan in place of the mascarpone. I topped the ravioli with parmesan, parsley, and diced tomatoes (canned for ease).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Better than Olive Garden! I changed the mushrooms to portobello as I like their flavour better, plus I was looking to duplicate Olive Garden's portobello ravioli. I also used dried herbs; 1tsp dried rather than 1 tbps fresh. I'm certain the flavours would be stronger with the fresh herbs. I also used the basic pasta recipie as I'm not a fan of wonton wrapper ravioli. This recipe was creamy and flavourful. To duplicate the sauce I used a sundried tomato alfredo with 1 cup of smoked edam cheese melted in. Top with fresh disced tomatos and green onions and it's not just like Olive Garden, it's better! YUM! Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
this was ok.. took forever to make and I found the wonton shells floppy and not nicely flavoured. I will make my own pasta next time and this should improve this recipe greatly. Otherwise the filling was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. The stuffing was absolutely delicious!! We did not have any problems with the wonton wrappers but we steamed them wrather than boiled and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delish!! I also used the Basic Pasta recipe for the ravioli, but this filling was really good. I subisituted cream cheese cause that is what I had on had. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The filling is absolutely unbelievably melt in your mouth amazing! Even for a mere "mushrooms are just ok and sometimes I pick em out of stuff" kinda eater like me. No, the wonton wrappers are not ideal but oh so easy it makes up for it! A few hints about wonton wrappers. They are NOT all created equal!! The kind from regular grocery stores are often thin and cheap thus harder to use and more chance of ripping. if you get a chance, get some from an actual asian market, however the "nasoya" brand from wal-mart are better then others. It makes a HUGE HUGE HUGE difference! For all of those who lost filling... 1) USE BETTER WONTON WRAPPERS! 2) you MUST make sure that every tiny part of the 'seam' is completley pinched shut! 3) do not over stuff or the filling will burst the seams. 4) squeeze all of the air out. That promotes ripping! A change I think I'll make permenant is to add some chopped spinach. Defrost, squeeze out all the liquid as possible, mix in when you add the cheese. To seal I just used beaten egg, no milk. Topped it off with "newman's own" vodka sauce. compliments it nicely! YUUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I have never had such an experience with a dish. Since I was having 4 couples over for dinner, I decided to “test” the ravioli before I served it. Let me say that the filling was outstanding. I placed one ravioli in a pot per directions (Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil) and within 2-3 minutes it had disintegrated. I was stunned and thought I did something wrong so I tried another – same thing. Honestly, it was comical. I was now in the Ravioli Twilight zone. They were disappearing before my eyes. To save the night, I had to go to plan B – rigatoni with homemade sauce. Success!! Perhaps the ravioli should “not” be placed in boiling water? Puzzled about this one so if anyone wants to shed some light I would very much appreciate it because as I said, the filling was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Although several of the ravs fell apart during cooking, the ones that stayed intact were really delicious. I made them with regular yellow onion, and a combination of button and chestnut mushrooms. I'm glad I didn't omit the fresh chives like I'd intended - they added a really nice flavor to the mix. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Tasty. I used the wonton wrappers and closed them with a pastry cutter. It was easier to close once I did the egg wash on the top as well as the bottom. The wetness helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States