Mushroom and Mascarpone Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
There's a lot of Mascarpone in this filling--maybe too much? It is also a labor intensive dish, not only because of the ravioli making but also because if you don't have a food processor then you have to chop the mushrooms by hand and that takes forever. Remember the mushrooms will shrink in the skillet, so the mushroom pieces don't have to be too tiny. I used shiitake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
The filling is superb! I alter everything as to what is in the frig./cabinet. Added a chopped sweet Italian pepper to mushroom. Had pitas not wonton wrappers. Nine inch pitas cut into nines. brush with low cholesterol butter type product inside ( to seal) and out (to griddle). The result: luscious pita ravioli/quesadilla wedges. Oh m'gosh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
The mushroom filling is so very good. The entire family enjoyed this dish. It is very good with a variety of mushrooms. If you don't have a shallot some finely chopped onion works very well. For anyone that had issues with the ravioli falling apart in the water, it helps to bring the water to a boil and then turn it down to barely a simmer, then put your ravioli in the water. Most ravioli (even store bought) should be cooked in water that is simmering. Also after you seal the edges with the egg mixture take a fork and press around all the edges. Just make sure not to make any holes in the "pillow" part of the ravioli. Also, topping the ravioli with a nice pesto instead of a red sauce makes a lighter version of the dish. One comment about the recipe; the instructions are a little confusing. First it tells you to mix the mushrooms and cheese together and then instructs you to fill the ravioli with a spoon full of mushroom mix and a spoonful of cheese. For the record, I mixed the mushroom and cheese in a bowl and filled them with the mixture. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have made this many times. It is wonderful. You cannot overfill the wrappers or they will open, also the water should only be at a light boil. I take one more step in the cooking process. I heat the oven to 350 degrees and bake for 5 minutes then broil for 2 minutes. Serve as normal. They freeze great. Place uncooked ravioli on a cookie sheet not allowing any to touch. Place in freezer for a few hours then you can package in freezer baggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
As I love everything pasta and mushroom, I had to take the challenge and make these raviolis. I must admit that the filling was just delicious but using the wonton wrappers was a failure. A lot of the raviolis would just open in the pot and turned out to be a bit soggy. I doubt I will make a second attempt at this but might just use the filling for a regular pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Just heavenly. The best ravioli I have ever had. I have made them both with wonton wrappers and homemade pasta, and I actually liked the wonton wrappers better. Maybe because I steam them rather than put them in a pot of boiling water so they do not get mushy or fall apart. I'll save the fresh pasta for my lasagnas. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Great filling! I used thick wonton wrappers, available at asian market, and had no trouble with leaking ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is a good recipe and fit to serve at a "fancy" dinner or gathering. I added some chopped deli-style ham to the mushrooms as they cooked and it was even better. Another variation I will try is to use smaller wrappers (or flat pasta squares or rounds) and serve as a companion dish to another main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I make these every time I want to impress someone. They come out delicious every time! I skip the egg and milk, and just use water. It seems to hold the wontons together better. Also, wait for the mushrooms to cool almost completely before adding them to the cheese (which should be at room temp). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Made it with the basic pasta recipe as well, because where i'm living in Spain, wonton wrappers are hard to come by. Very good. As people have said, the FILLING is scrumptious! Will try to make them again with the wonton wrappers. ALthough they were very difficult to make with the basic pasta, with the Simmering water (as people recommended) I had no problem with them falling apart. Note, i doubled the pasta recipe, and probably should have tripled it. I still had filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States