Mushroom and Gorgonzola Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Delicious creamy mushroom soup! Yum yum, this one goes in my recipe box! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This makes a very good soup. However, I used 1.5 times the amount of mushrooms and that still was on the light side. I would at least double the amount of mushrooms. I also added a little more cheese since the flavor was not as bold as I had hoped. Since I had no more gorgonzola, I used 2 tbsps. or Pecorino romano. Also double garlic and sherry. Bottom line, good jumping off point, but needs more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Loving it. I used 2% milk instead of cream, upped the mushrooms (~1.5 lbs...seems like a lot but they soak up so much liquid), added celery. Also used more herbs -- rosemary, thyme, oregano, basil and bay leaves. Used just a touch of goat cheese on top, instead of gorgonzola. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Flavor abounds in this most delicious, simple soup comprised of just enough special ingredients. I could eat it all myself....and will add this to my next dinner party menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
YUMMO!added another pd.of mushrooms used potabellas,1 more clove garlic,whole medium sweet onion,4 cups vegi broth. Will make this OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good soup but agree with others that twice the amount of mushrooms would be better. Instead of making the roux in a separate pot I just sprinkled the flour over the cooked onions and mushrooms, then added the chicken broth and cream. Worked great and saved me another pot needing to be scrubbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
So good!!! I used about 1.5 lbs mushrooms ... it was even better the next day :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was amazing. we cut the recipe in half yet still ended up using the full amounts of onion/garlic/mushroom; double them all, it will add more depth of flavor. I also used half the amount of half and half and made up for it with greek yogurt- still creamy and delicious, just a little healthier. Will definitely make again, and maybe with a little thyme next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Loved this and stayed pretty close to the recipe. I increased the sherry to dilute the gorgonzola's strong flavor. It's a good foundation to grow from. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States