Mushroom and Gorgonzola Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is the first time I ever made a soup from scratch and it was easier and far less intimidating than I thought. I used two 8 oz containers of portobello mushrooms and it was enough. I also used crumbled blue cheese, although I then realized I'm not a huge fan of the biting flavor. I'd say that was the only downside, but that's my preference. Maybe next time I'll used a milder cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaElaina87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is delicious!!! I didn't have chicken stock so I used beef "better than boullion" and it was delish! I may have overdone the rosemary and I would lower the salt to none-1/4 tsp. it was probably the extra salt from the boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Really liked this. Made some modifications. Used 1% milk instead of cream for calories' sake. Followed other recommendations and added more mushrooms: 1 8 oz bag of white mushrooms, one 8 oz bag of cremini mushrooms and a package of Shitakes. Could even use more. Perhaps would decrease the rosemary next time, as it was very strong. But there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this soup! The addition of Gorgonzola is inspired and lends an incredible dimension to the recipe. Have made it several times, to raves each time. Like many of the other comments, I doubled the amount of mushrooms and used Crimini and Baby Portabellos for a deeper richness of flavor. Homemade chicken stock, more garlic, sherry and a bit more Gorgonzola just perfect this recipe. More soup recipes please, "Bunchkin"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Minor changes - 1.5 lbs of mushrooms, added flour right to mushroom mixture as suggested, used fresh rosemary and 1% milk. It was delicious and rich enough without the fat of half-n-half. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This soup is amazing! I followed another reviewers advice and sprinkled the flour over the onion, garlic and mushroom mixture, and then added the other ingredients. I also think the mushrooms could be doubled but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBI215

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
THIS WAS AMAZING!!!!!! I forgot the sherry and used Greek yogurt instead of half-and-half, margarine instead of butter, forgot the parsley and doubled the mushrooms. I wanted to see how it tasted with and without the cheese, but with the cheese, it was unbelievable! I did put in too much, so some lemon juice helped tone down the aftertaste. This one is going to be a staple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
The taste was interesting and nice. The serving of six would be ok if served as appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Perfect. Years ago, I got my husband to eat mushrooms by making mushroom soup. Today, I got him to eat gorgonzola by making mushroom and gorgonzola soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States