Mushroom Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Came out way better than I thought. I cut this down to 4 portions using 2 8oz packs of shrooms and still had enough for 6 patties. I added the garlic first, letting it brown and then the onion until it became a bit glassy, just because I'm used to that order. Cut the mushrooms finely before frying using a herb chopper - same with the onions. Used probably twice the oregano, two eggs, and a few handfuls of nacho cheddar cheese. Baked them 10 mins each side at 450. Crispy, meaty, juicy, non-crumbly and delicious. These could easily pass for real meat patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Once again, Chef John does not disappoint. I made these last night and my carnavore husband really liked them. The only changes I made was to dice the mushrooms prior to cooking and I added two generous shakes of Worcestershire to the mixture. It also helped to put the patties in the freezer so they were easier to cook without them falling apart. I froze the leftover patties and I can't wait to serve them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Marie Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This was really good. It's exactly what I was looking for. But this is not meant to replace a beef burger - it's just a good food all on its own. I've made the mushroom meat lass and they are also very good. Next time I'm going to try adding Worcestershire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I followed Hayley comment to add 2 tblspoons of Worcestershire sauce which is a great tip to give a real meaty flavor. I also added 1 tsp of paprika to give it a little kick and made sure to cook off all the juices. I also added additional breadcrumbs and 1 additional whole egg to get the patties to stick together better. The recipe was enough for 9 diner sized burgers, and I grilled them outside for about 15 minutes on medium direct heat flipping only once. They turned out delicious, and even the carnivores didn't miss the meat. This will be a regular staple for outdoor grilling season. Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have really enjoyed this recipe. The first time I added quinoa as a previous reviewer suggested. Today I used rolled oats and also added a bit of siracha (1 tsp?) because I like spice. It was great as a 'hamburger' with avacado and tomato on top. This will become one of my regular vegetarian recipes for meatless Mondays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I did this recipe but I add one chilly pepper chopped fine an extra egg and add mozzarella cheeses instead made a Sauce to top it 3tlbs of Mao 1tlbs of chilly paste 1tea spoon lemon juice salt and pepper to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ettore Mastroddi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Tasted good and surprisingly filling! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Cooking tip: Really make sure you cook the liquid off of the mushrooms and onions well, otherwise your burgers will be soft/ mushy. Suggestions for enhancing the flavor: 1/4 c tahini paste (adds a nice, nutty complexity to the flavor and helps bond the ingredients), 2Tb Worcestershire sauce (add to mushrooms while cooking), a sprinkle of Garam Masala or Curry (I have enjoyed both). This recipe also makes tasty meatballs for spaghetti-- just bake in small balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Loved it! This was so good and so easy. I am trying to find ways to cut calories and still enjoy my food. This is going to become a common meal in my home. The only thing I did differently was put instant steel cut oats instead of rolled oats because that is what I had. Went great with Cauliflower (faux mashed potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Another great recipe, I made enough so my husband and I can eat them for lunch everyday of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary E. Healey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States