Mushroom Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I did this recipe but I add one chilly pepper chopped fine an extra egg and add mozzarella cheeses instead made a Sauce to top it 3tlbs of Mao 1tlbs of chilly paste 1tea spoon lemon juice salt and pepper to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ettore Mastroddi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Tasted good and surprisingly filling! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Cooking tip: Really make sure you cook the liquid off of the mushrooms and onions well, otherwise your burgers will be soft/ mushy. Suggestions for enhancing the flavor: 1/4 c tahini paste (adds a nice, nutty complexity to the flavor and helps bond the ingredients), 2Tb Worcestershire sauce (add to mushrooms while cooking), a sprinkle of Garam Masala or Curry (I have enjoyed both). This recipe also makes tasty meatballs for spaghetti-- just bake in small balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Loved it! This was so good and so easy. I am trying to find ways to cut calories and still enjoy my food. This is going to become a common meal in my home. The only thing I did differently was put instant steel cut oats instead of rolled oats because that is what I had. Went great with Cauliflower (faux mashed potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Another great recipe, I made enough so my husband and I can eat them for lunch everyday of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary E. Healey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I have not tried this burger but it is enough like mine that I bet it is really good. Mine was so much like real meat that it was quite satisfying. I had lost my recipe so I was ecstatic to find one very close to mine. One difference is I chop the mushrooms into medium pieces and then fry them until they are golden and leathery. This is what gives them the meaty chewiness. I then add the other ingredients except the oatmeal. I am going to try my recipe with the oatmeal to see if it makes a difference. I don't use cheese in the mix and I add a tablespoon of soy sauce. I never liked the bean burgers that most vegie burgers are made of. They don't taste anything like a hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
awesome!!! we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I had already made the meatball version of this recipe (also on Chef John's website) and was absolutely amazing! Even my carnivorous family members loved it! I definitely recommend this recipe as it is.For more protein I sometimes substitute the breadcrumbs with fine bulgur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
These were really different. I don't think they taste like a burger, but more like a patty version of a vegetarian stuffed mushroom. Before being cooked the filling was almost like a mushroom heavy stuffing. Although, I do like that they set up, after they cook, as they cool. I wouldn't recommend this to a meat burger eater, but it might be a different change to someone tired of the flavor and texture of bean burgers. It was a little salty tasting to me, and I didnt love the soft chewy texture, but I think they will all be eaten by someone in my household. I made 1/2 recipe and got 7 patties with a #16 scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Delicious! I added a little bit of garlic powder and onion powder to this recipe for extra flavour. Oh and I forgot to add the oats, but... it came out perfect. They were sticky enough to form nice burgers and after frying they became crispy from the outside and meaty inside. Yummy. Thanks for the recipe, I now make this every month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ely&Nino

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashford, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States