Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
It is a very good recipe. Very tasty and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
These make wonderful appetizers! Though they're a little putzy to make, they're worth it. I brush the edges with some beaten egg for a better seal and also brush some on the tops. I bake them in a slightly hotter oven (400 degrees), too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
These turned out great. I have never made anything like this before. And I found it to be very easy to make, even though it takes quite a while to prepare. But it was worth it. I baked for 20 mins. but I think they could still take another 5 or so. I will do them again. They were also very tender, just melts in your mouth. They are a great substitude for potatoes. Thank you Rachel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made these with some variations. I made them bite-size and they were devoured. Still have a ton of dough left and some filling so will make the rest tomorrow. My variations were as follows: Substituted shallots for the onions. Added garlic (2 cloves) Add one finely chopped birds eye chili pepper Did an egg wash on top before baking (as another reviewer suggested) The turnovers were flaky and the flavors complimented each other well. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I'm a little biased because this was my mom's recipe, but it is fantastic. The dough is extremely easy to work with and I use it for other recipes, like mini sausage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLACIA2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I have never made pastry successfully before trying this recipie. They turned out beautifully! The recipie did yield 22 instead of 10, but they all disappeared fast. I added cooked crumbled bacon to the filling and more salt, but the rest was the same. I even took a photo of them, my first success with pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The crust recipe is versatile and delicious as a pie crust, and the filling is better than Trader Joe's version of these (& so expensive to buy)! Thanks a million, these are a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is great. My family nearly made themselves sick eating these delicious wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kinna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These were fantastic. I added cooked chopped spinach to the mixture along with some grated parmesan cheese. Added egg wash to the top of the crust like some suggested. Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsayce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I only used the crust. Its extraordinary. I used homemade ricotta instead of cream cheese and a few tbsp. oil instead of butter, and also whole wheat pastry flour, inspite of my changes, the crust is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States