Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
My family loves mushrooms and finger foods. This is always a favorite snack. I use store bought puff pastry to save time and I add lots of garlic to my mushrooms and a little bit of rendered beef fat (I get the fat in chunks from the butcher)for extra flavor instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAouita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years for New Years and other party times. I use canned mushrooms though, drained and paper towel dried before adding. They can be made ahead and refrigerated until needed. I layer them on parchment sheets on a cookie sheet in fridge so they are easily pulled out and placed directly on cookie sheet for baking quickly for guests. I have also used chopped black olives instead of mushrooms occasionally just to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe and the possibilities are endless. I made them large, hot pocket style and added chicken and it was our on-the-go dinner and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These are great! Admitted, I do not use the dough recipe, just the filling. I am sure the cream cheese dough is great but every time I try to work with pastry dough it turns into a big fat fail that ends with me cursing loudly. If you have the same problem, here's a tip. Get two boxes of the Pepperidge Farm puff pastry sheets (there are two sheets in each box). Use a pizza cutter or just a knife and cut the sheets into sixths, and use them for your crust. I up the filling for the recipes slightly, using a full pound of mushrooms, a little more than half a cup of sour cream and increasing all the spices slightly for taste and to account for the increased amount of mushrooms. I make the filling the night before and refrigerate it then assemble the turnovers and bake them on the holiday, which cuts down on the time I need to work on the actual holiday considerably. I cook them at the same temperature and for the same time. These have become a new staple of my Thanksgiving/Christmas table as an appetizer before the meal over the last year or two. I love mushrooms so when I first heard "mushroom turnovers" I couldn't wait to try them. They are delicious. Even my daughter, who claims not to like mushrooms, loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made the turnovers exactly as written but they turned out just OK... they were bland and definitely missing something (though I can't put my finger on exactly what it was). We served them to our party guests next to a bowl of sour cream to help enhance the general blandness of the turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I just assumed the filling would be bland and added couple cloves garlic, a tsp of worcestershire sauce and a dash of Tabasco. I also did bite size and got about 35 out of it. Lastly I added egg wash and baked them for 25 minutes. I really like them! So much more elegant to bring to a party than your standard fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is my Holiday staple for parties ever since I found it in a Philly Cream Cheese cookbook! Not a year goes by that I don't make these. In recent years, I have changed one thing about the recipe - instead of making them as turnovers, I actually make them as mini tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
These were really good. I followed the recipe almost exactly, I had more mushrooms to use up though so mine had a bit more mushroom. I wasn't sure if there was enough flour in the pastry but they turned out fine after being baked. They have a great texture as well as a simple but enjoyable taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I love these little morsels! If I have to bring an orvi-dori, my friends always say "bring your mushroom turnovers". I purchased (at the $1 store) a set of 3 different size plastic, molds that are hinged and the smallest one is the perfect size and seals the edges with a nice crimped edge. The most important thing is to not put too much filling in to ooze out. A little finicky to make but worth the effort!! yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
The crust was gloppy and there was way more filling than there was crust for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States