Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made these with some variations. I made them bite-size and they were devoured. Still have a ton of dough left and some filling so will make the rest tomorrow. My variations were as follows: Substituted shallots for the onions. Added garlic (2 cloves) Add one finely chopped birds eye chili pepper Did an egg wash on top before baking (as another reviewer suggested) The turnovers were flaky and the flavors complimented each other well. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
These were easy enough to make, but I froze the turnovers before baking. They turned out messy, leaky and sloppy. The filling had way too much liquid after freezing as the turnovers thawed in the oven. In addition, the dough seemed very thick. If trying it again, I'd roll out to 1/8 inch thickness rather than 1/4 inch. And if baking from frozen, I'd try upping the oven temp to 375 so maybe it would mitigate some of the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
These make wonderful appetizers! Though they're a little putzy to make, they're worth it. I brush the edges with some beaten egg for a better seal and also brush some on the tops. I bake them in a slightly hotter oven (400 degrees), too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The filling was a little bland thus I changed the recipe. Since the dough was amazing I used it and filled it with brie and cranberry sauce. These were a fantastic appetizer for my Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I have never made pastry successfully before trying this recipie. They turned out beautifully! The recipie did yield 22 instead of 10, but they all disappeared fast. I added cooked crumbled bacon to the filling and more salt, but the rest was the same. I even took a photo of them, my first success with pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These were fantastic. I added cooked chopped spinach to the mixture along with some grated parmesan cheese. Added egg wash to the top of the crust like some suggested. Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsayce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I'm a little biased because this was my mom's recipe, but it is fantastic. The dough is extremely easy to work with and I use it for other recipes, like mini sausage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLACIA2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I only used the crust. Its extraordinary. I used homemade ricotta instead of cream cheese and a few tbsp. oil instead of butter, and also whole wheat pastry flour, inspite of my changes, the crust is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Not bad, not great. Pastry turned out nicely flaky, but was fairly difficult to work with. Filling a little bland and somewhat watery - had to thicken it up quite a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
The crust was really light and flaky, but the filling was just too bland. If I make this again I'd add some more flavor to it somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States