Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
These make wonderful appetizers! Though they're a little putzy to make, they're worth it. I brush the edges with some beaten egg for a better seal and also brush some on the tops. I bake them in a slightly hotter oven (400 degrees), too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I'm a little biased because this was my mom's recipe, but it is fantastic. The dough is extremely easy to work with and I use it for other recipes, like mini sausage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLACIA2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
It is a very good recipe. Very tasty and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
These turned out great. I have never made anything like this before. And I found it to be very easy to make, even though it takes quite a while to prepare. But it was worth it. I baked for 20 mins. but I think they could still take another 5 or so. I will do them again. They were also very tender, just melts in your mouth. They are a great substitude for potatoes. Thank you Rachel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I had some puff pastry to use up so I just made the filling. I added two cloves of garlic and some parmesen cheese (as I didn't have the cream cheese in the pastry). Also didn't add flour to the mixture - not sure why that is needed as the mushroom mixture was not lumpy at all? Anyway the results were very tasty. Next time I will try making the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I was disappointed with these. Even my husband, who will scoff anything and everything said these were 'just alright.' I thought the filling was really bland, so I added 2 fat cloves of freshly-minced garlic. The cream cheese pastry was quite nice, but not worth the extra calories, in my opinion. I probably won't make these again, but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
It sounded good on paper, but the filling was too sour; the combination of cheeses did not compliment the mushrooms, particularly the sweetness of the sliced portabellas I chose to use. This recipe is a little too time-consuming and messy for the unremarkable end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
The crust was really light and flaky, but the filling was just too bland. If I make this again I'd add some more flavor to it somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
These were easy enough to make, but I froze the turnovers before baking. They turned out messy, leaky and sloppy. The filling had way too much liquid after freezing as the turnovers thawed in the oven. In addition, the dough seemed very thick. If trying it again, I'd roll out to 1/8 inch thickness rather than 1/4 inch. And if baking from frozen, I'd try upping the oven temp to 375 so maybe it would mitigate some of the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Great Filling ! They took a little longer to cook than it said. Next time I would make the rounds larger than 3" You cannot get much filling in them. In a hurry use refrigerated pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amysaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States