Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
My family loves mushrooms and finger foods. This is always a favorite snack. I use store bought puff pastry to save time and I add lots of garlic to my mushrooms and a little bit of rendered beef fat (I get the fat in chunks from the butcher)for extra flavor instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAouita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years for New Years and other party times. I use canned mushrooms though, drained and paper towel dried before adding. They can be made ahead and refrigerated until needed. I layer them on parchment sheets on a cookie sheet in fridge so they are easily pulled out and placed directly on cookie sheet for baking quickly for guests. I have also used chopped black olives instead of mushrooms occasionally just to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe and the possibilities are endless. I made them large, hot pocket style and added chicken and it was our on-the-go dinner and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These are great! Admitted, I do not use the dough recipe, just the filling. I am sure the cream cheese dough is great but every time I try to work with pastry dough it turns into a big fat fail that ends with me cursing loudly. If you have the same problem, here's a tip. Get two boxes of the Pepperidge Farm puff pastry sheets (there are two sheets in each box). Use a pizza cutter or just a knife and cut the sheets into sixths, and use them for your crust. I up the filling for the recipes slightly, using a full pound of mushrooms, a little more than half a cup of sour cream and increasing all the spices slightly for taste and to account for the increased amount of mushrooms. I make the filling the night before and refrigerate it then assemble the turnovers and bake them on the holiday, which cuts down on the time I need to work on the actual holiday considerably. I cook them at the same temperature and for the same time. These have become a new staple of my Thanksgiving/Christmas table as an appetizer before the meal over the last year or two. I love mushrooms so when I first heard "mushroom turnovers" I couldn't wait to try them. They are delicious. Even my daughter, who claims not to like mushrooms, loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made the turnovers exactly as written but they turned out just OK... they were bland and definitely missing something (though I can't put my finger on exactly what it was). We served them to our party guests next to a bowl of sour cream to help enhance the general blandness of the turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I just assumed the filling would be bland and added couple cloves garlic, a tsp of worcestershire sauce and a dash of Tabasco. I also did bite size and got about 35 out of it. Lastly I added egg wash and baked them for 25 minutes. I really like them! So much more elegant to bring to a party than your standard fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is my Holiday staple for parties ever since I found it in a Philly Cream Cheese cookbook! Not a year goes by that I don't make these. In recent years, I have changed one thing about the recipe - instead of making them as turnovers, I actually make them as mini tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
These were really good. I followed the recipe almost exactly, I had more mushrooms to use up though so mine had a bit more mushroom. I wasn't sure if there was enough flour in the pastry but they turned out fine after being baked. They have a great texture as well as a simple but enjoyable taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I love these little morsels! If I have to bring an orvi-dori, my friends always say "bring your mushroom turnovers". I purchased (at the $1 store) a set of 3 different size plastic, molds that are hinged and the smallest one is the perfect size and seals the edges with a nice crimped edge. The most important thing is to not put too much filling in to ooze out. A little finicky to make but worth the effort!! yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
The crust was gloppy and there was way more filling than there was crust for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States