Mushroom Toast Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
these were easy to make, the flavour was a little flat, maybe will try some garlic in with the mushrooms and onions next time. They looked great when they were finished, I will use them at our next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was a very nice appetizer. I added more seasonings to the mixture including garlic and onion powders. To make life a bit easier, instead of making the toast cups, I used the mini phyllo cups. I'll definitely be making this again and I may even add some spinach to the mushroom filling. They were gone in no time and I thank you for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
As written, these were very tasty, but a little bit of minced garlic made them really outstanding. I loved the munchy little toast cups - a nice change from the usual biscuit dough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These need more flavor. Next time I will add some garlic and some other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
this worked out o.k. but was not the people pleaser that i hoped for. the bread cups were too bland and the filling just alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Definately add some garlic, and the reviewer that said add spinach was really on to something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
D-licious...have been making a similar recipe for years but with a ground beef/mushroom filling. Always gets rave reviews, and many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made the basic recipe and threw in a hand full of fresh spinach leaves at the end of sauteing the mushroom onion mixture. I didn't have time to make the toast cups, so to cut down on time I used the Athens Phyllo cups and stuffed them right before baking. This had spectacular flavor with a little bit of garlic added and a healthy dose of grated parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
The toast cups were very bland and did nothing to blend with the flavours of the mushroom filling, they each kind of stood out on their own. I think they needed something added to bind the flavours of the filling with the plainness of the toast cups better. The mushroom filling needed 2-3X more seasoning, lots more salt, and more flour than called for in the recipe to make it thick enough. Overall the flavours were very nice with the extra tweaking, the addition of the Parmeson on top was very nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have been making a similar recipe for years, but found that brushing melted butter in the tins and over the tops of the bread circles make them crisp up nicely. Also, omitting the lemon juice and adding Marsala or sherry instead seems to complement the half and half. If you double the recipe, don't double the cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States