Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Great moist stuffing - even cooked inside the turkey. I used some chopped portabello mushrooms instead of all button mushrooms to add some additional flavor. Also, to save time, I made the stuffing and refridgerated it overnight before cooking and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I have made this recipe for the last 3 years and it is always a hit. I've shared the recipe each year with family and friends. I don't measure the bread crumbs but dry 1 loaf of bread, cube it and then double the broth and poultry seasoning. I also use less than a cup of onion and celery. One cup of each is a little too much for us. This year we added portabella mushrooms and it was wonderful. I didn't put the apple in but may have to try it the next time. This is a very good recipe and there are never any leftovers. Thanks for sharing your recipe Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
I didn't think anything could rival my mother's stuffing recipe, but after making this for Thanksgiving, I now know I was wrong! Delicious, the whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
I made this stuffing for thanksgiving 2003 and it was a disaster. 12 cups of bread crumbs is way too much for this recipe. I would suggest using only 6 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Everyone loved the stuffing! It was great. I did change how much broth I added. I almost doubled it so it wouldn't be dry. The stuffing cooked in the casserole dish was just as moist as the stuffing I cooked in the turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was excellent tasting, but far too dry. In the end I found that it needed about 3 times the amount of liquid suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This was the alughing stock of my 2003 Thanksgiving. I might have known that 12 cups of bread crumbs and only 1.5 cups of broth was suspect. Don't waste your money or your ingredients. This wasn't even edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I followed the advice of other reviews and doubled the amount of chicken broth, and used baby portabella mushrooms. Overall, I was pleased with the results. My dad felt it was too oniony, however, my brother who has never like stuffing really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Very good flavor, but not very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I think I must have done something wrong. My stuffing came out very dry. Even before putting it in the oven I had to add extra broth to get it to a moist state. The taste was good but it was dry. I would probably make this again just to see if it came out any different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States