Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Great moist stuffing - even cooked inside the turkey. I used some chopped portabello mushrooms instead of all button mushrooms to add some additional flavor. Also, to save time, I made the stuffing and refridgerated it overnight before cooking and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I have made this recipe for the last 3 years and it is always a hit. I've shared the recipe each year with family and friends. I don't measure the bread crumbs but dry 1 loaf of bread, cube it and then double the broth and poultry seasoning. I also use less than a cup of onion and celery. One cup of each is a little too much for us. This year we added portabella mushrooms and it was wonderful. I didn't put the apple in but may have to try it the next time. This is a very good recipe and there are never any leftovers. Thanks for sharing your recipe Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
I didn't think anything could rival my mother's stuffing recipe, but after making this for Thanksgiving, I now know I was wrong! Delicious, the whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
I made this stuffing for thanksgiving 2003 and it was a disaster. 12 cups of bread crumbs is way too much for this recipe. I would suggest using only 6 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Everyone loved the stuffing! It was great. I did change how much broth I added. I almost doubled it so it wouldn't be dry. The stuffing cooked in the casserole dish was just as moist as the stuffing I cooked in the turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Okay, there are a few things you need to know about this recipe. It is a good blueprint for stuffing, but 1) DO NOT USE CRUMBS!!! Substitute for cubed bread, I used a bag from the grocery store, which turned out find. Also, 12 cups is too much, 10 cups of cubed bread worked very well. 2) USE AT LEAST 3 CUPS CHICKEN BROTH/STOCK. This made it moist and delicious!!! 3) ADD ONE CLOVE GARLIC to the onion/celery saute. And finally, 4) USE A VARIETY OF MUSHROOMS, this will add to the depth of flavor of the stuffing. I used a gourmet mix and 'baby bellos'. I did a 'rehearsal' of this recipe tonight and it came out absolutely delicious with the changes I listed above. If you have any mushroom lovers in your house, this will surely be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was excellent tasting, but far too dry. In the end I found that it needed about 3 times the amount of liquid suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I followed the advice of other reviews and doubled the amount of chicken broth, and used baby portabella mushrooms. Overall, I was pleased with the results. My dad felt it was too oniony, however, my brother who has never like stuffing really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This was the alughing stock of my 2003 Thanksgiving. I might have known that 12 cups of bread crumbs and only 1.5 cups of broth was suspect. Don't waste your money or your ingredients. This wasn't even edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Very good flavor, but not very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States