Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
3 stars because something is wrong. 1st of all DO NOT use bread crumbs!!! Use cubed bread. Needs way more chicken broth, probably at least 3 cups. Won't make again. It totally needs a make-over in my humble opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I used 12 cups of bread CUBES, 2.5 cups of vegetable stock, 1/4 cup of cream, 4 ribs of celery, 5 shallots instead of onions, and added 3 sprigs of thyme, 6 sage leaves, & 1 sprig of rosemary. I omitted the apple, the poultry seasoning and the parsley, and cooked it in my largest round Corningware casserole dish. I LOVED it and I wish I could eat it every day. However, this dish requires a fair amount of prep time, especially the cubing and baking of 3 batches of bread cubes (10 minutes per batch). Definitely not an everyday dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
You don't use 12 cups of crumbs! You use 12 cups of dried CUBED bread. I just tear up a loaf of bread into crouton size chunks the night before and let them air dry till next day. Awesome, easy to adjust to personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I really liked this recipe. The mushrooms I used were chanterelles and portobello. Chanterelle mushrooms are my fave and the portobello adds a meatiness in the stuffing. I also had some broccoli on hand so I threw that in for more green. Before making this, I did refer to the other reviews about adding more liquid and what a great tip that was, however, because I had to scale the recipe greatly, I had to be careful not to add too much liquid. Overall, a solid stuffing to compliment your turkey and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I cooked this in the crock pot and used the bread stuffing cubes instead of crumbs. Also increased broth to 2 cups. It's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I can't see how this recipe can possibly work with the quantity of ingredients listed. Even after mega tweaking it was dry and bland to our palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this to go along with the easy cornish game hens and it was excellent. The entire family enjoyed it as there were not any left overs. I actually followed the recipe as is and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My husband and our guests would've given this 5 stars but I wasn't blown away by it. I used half the bread cubes, twice the chicken broth and portobellos instead of regular mushrooms. Probably about triple the spices too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I think its suppose to be 1/2 cup, not 12 cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DubG GG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Okay, there are a few things you need to know about this recipe. It is a good blueprint for stuffing, but 1) DO NOT USE CRUMBS!!! Substitute for cubed bread, I used a bag from the grocery store, which turned out find. Also, 12 cups is too much, 10 cups of cubed bread worked very well. 2) USE AT LEAST 3 CUPS CHICKEN BROTH/STOCK. This made it moist and delicious!!! 3) ADD ONE CLOVE GARLIC to the onion/celery saute. And finally, 4) USE A VARIETY OF MUSHROOMS, this will add to the depth of flavor of the stuffing. I used a gourmet mix and 'baby bellos'. I did a 'rehearsal' of this recipe tonight and it came out absolutely delicious with the changes I listed above. If you have any mushroom lovers in your house, this will surely be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States