Mushroom Stuffing Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
THESE ARE AWESOME!!! The first time I made them, I didn't have bread crumbs so I had to improvise. What I did was crush up seasoned croutons and they worked very well!! I will always use the croutons now. I've made these for my Christmas party and our Super Bowl party and have gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
excellent recipe. I made it for a appetizer potluck and the mushroom balls were enjoyed by all who had them. Even folks who detest mushrooms were shocked to learn the ingredients of these tasty snacks. I stuck to the recipe for the most part. I used three eggs rather than four and 1/3 cup butter rather than 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moose Pass, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used this recipe as a filling for whole mushroom caps with a little mozzarella cheese underneath. It sounded like a good idea but wasn't a huge success with my husband. I thought it was just okay. The mixture was a bit dry and tasted mostly of the bread crumb seasoning. I used my food processor and I think I chopped the mushroom too finely and then had to add too much bread crumbs to hold the mixture together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I like more a mushroom taste this tasted more like the bread crumbs than mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
We really enjoyed these! I only used 2 T. butter (I'm always cutting down the fat if I can)and 2 eggs and added a large clove of fresh garlic and some poultry seasoning. Putting the mushrooms, onion, and garlic in the food processor makes it so easy. I also added only enough bread crumbs to make it slightly stiff. My husband thought it was a restaurant quality appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This tasted very good. I thought the batch felt extremely dry after using the required amount of breadcrumbs, so I had a half brick of light cream cheese left over that I added to the batch to make it less dry. I also added about a 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese to the recipe. My husband enjoyed them very much, and since I have some of the batch left over, I'll add some horseradish to them for some extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I made these for a party. I found them extraordinarily dry and bland, but they appealed greatly to some of the more finicky eaters among my guests. Probably a nice fallback vegetarian recipe for anyone without an adventurous palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I am not a huge mushroom fan; although, I had some mushrooms left over from another recipe.... These Mushroom Stuffing Balls are so tasty. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Very different appetizer! The second time I made them, I added Chinese seasoning and served with Teriyaki sauce. I plan on using this recipe in my stuffed zucchini this summer - WAY better than regular stuffing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Pretty good!!! I can see how this can be an okay crowd pleaser. Next time, I'm going to include chopped green onions. There's something missing when I initially tasted it... would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siam255

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boudin Balls

See how to make a crispy, meaty appetizer for game day.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States