Mushroom Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
4 stars because as written the recipe is time consuming. Lots of unnecessary steps and dirty dishes. I chopped the mushrooms, bell peppers, and some onion on a fine dice and mixed it with the shredded cheese, oregano, and salt and pepper. I stuffed this into my hollowed out (but not pre-cooked) zucchini boats. I lined them all up in a baking dish, covered with foil, and baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes until the zucchini were fork tender. It was delicious! I made it twice in one week because it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Amazing recipe! My boyfriend and i loved it! I made some changes, I switched the Parmesan cheese with Feta. We (especially I) love feta and when crumbled on top of food and then baked in the oven it get this delicious crisp on top. We also had cooked ground beef from the day before, I added some of it to the stuffing 1-2 mins before it was done. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
WOW! I saw this in the daily recipe today and was impressed. As I went to make dinner I realized I had most of the ingredients just out of the garden. I used a green bell pepper and a zucchini and a yellow squash and portabello mushrooms. Instead of stuffing the zucchini I merely chopped them up and sauted them with butter, salt and pepper and some garlic and onion powder. Added the flour and oregano, then mexican blend cheese, put it into a buttered casserole dish and grated pecorino romano over the top. Baked it at 350 F for 15 mins. YUM, YUM, YUM. Will stuff the zucchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maz
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
A great recipe and delicious dish. I replaced the butter with coconut oil, the all-purpose flour with spelt flour, the Monterey Jack cheese with melting sheep cheese and the Parmesan cheese with Parmesan-like goat cheese. Very healthy, easy and delicious. It takes time for preparation for first timers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Delicious! This was a great way of cooking the zucchini so I didn't have to use the oven long. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was an excellent vegetarian dish! I used four zucchini to make the "stuffing" stretch a little further, and thought it was perfect. I also used 1/2 c. cheddar cheese and 1/2 c. motz., since that's what I had on hand. I will definitely make this again! Great for an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is amazing. I can't believe how easy this was and how great it tasted. Made it exactly as written, only added salt and pepper to the mix. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
The flavor is good, although I thought it was under spiced, but that's because of the butter and cheese. I used it as an appetizer so portions were reduced. That said, for those looking for "vegetarian" and who automatically think that translates to "healthy," it does not. There's lots of cheese here which means lots of fat, saturated fat, and cholesterol. What's in this recipe is a huge amount for what this is. Find reduced fat cheeses, at a minimum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was really good. Another reviewer commented on the amount of fat this meal had - I completely disagree. You need the cheese for flavor and protein so it holds you for a few hours. Feel free to use feta, sharp cheddar, more parmesan - get flavor in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great recipe - very easy to customize to your own tastes (I added garlic and vidalia onions, some leftover steak and a smidge of horseradish). Personally, I work hard enough during the day to metabolize the the small amount of "evil" butter and cheese. Life is short - work hard and enjoy dinner. Thanks for a wonderful way to use up a very prolific garden veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States