Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This is a great basic recipe but with a few touches it is elegant. First, make duxelles for the stuffing (sauteed finely chopped mushrooms with shallots) and then add about a couple of tablespoons of white wine and let that get absorbed. No breadcrumbs. Either slice the chicken in half horizontally or pound it flat or both before you stuff it. Roll the chicken up then brush it with olive oil or butter then roll it in the breadcrumbs mixed with grated parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp. paprika and 1/2 tsp. thyme. Then pour the cream and bake! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this exactly as MICHELLECA suggested and it was absolutely a five-star, fine restaurant quality dish! I minced the mushrooms and onions, and added some chopped garlic--cooked this in the 1/4 c. butter till dark, several minutes, then deglazed the pan with a splash of wine until it was absorbed and the mixture resembled a paste (added NO bread crumbs). I actually forgot about the nutmeg, but we didn't miss it. I pounded the chicken breasts to about 1/4" thickness, then rolled them up with the mushroom mixture. I coated the chicken with melted butter, then in a mixture of plain bread crumbs mixed with a couple tablespoons of Parmesan cheese. Poured the cream over, and then baked at 375 degrees rather than 350. I served this with green beans and "Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo," also from this site. Hubby specifically REQUESTED that we have the leftovers again for dinner tomorrow night! Thanks to both Jennifer and MICHELLECA for this fabulous dish. My suggestion?....please don't ruin this wonderful recipe with canned, cream of mushroom soup. Make it as the recipe directs, by just pouring the cream over all. It might sound unusual, but believe me, it turns into something truly wonderful, and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I followed other people's suggestions and chopped the mushrooms up very small, added chopped spinach, pounded the chicken, no vinegar, brushed on olive oil on the outside of the chicken and then rolled in breadcrumbs. My side dish was portebello mushroom risotto and roasted vegetables. It was a great meal!! My husband was shocked when he cut into it! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I would give the "version" that I made 5 stars. I used this recipe as a base, for what I was actually looking for in this recipe. I ended up cooking the mushrooms, in butter and white wine, along with minced garlic and onion. I butterflied and stuffed the chicken breasts. And then....I put a little butter in the pan, used for the mushrooms and added some cream of mushroom soup, cream and wine. I whisked these together and topped the chicken with the cream mixture. When the chicken was cooked, I poured off the cream/cream of mushroom mixture, back into the sauce pan....and added a little more ingredient to thicken it, into a gravy type sauce. It was AWESOME! I will definitely make this again...and play around with the ingredients. It just seemed too bland, topped merely with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
This was the first time I tried to make stuffed chicken...I was a little nervous but it turned out fantastic! We added fresh garlic, onion and chopped spinach to the mushrooms and sauteed. We tenderized the chicken to make it easier to roll up, which worked great! The nutmeg is great with spinach so don't omit it!!! This is so good we're making it again tomorrow for my mother in-law for Mother's Day. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
I don't see how these could be made without first pounding the chicken flat. I pound mine flat which made it easier to roll. I also put my mushrooms in the food processor and chopped them really fine. I rolled the chicken and secured with toothpicks and cooking twine. I left out the nutmeg and the cream. I spread a can of cream of mushroom soup in the baking dish before adding the chicken rolls. I served with wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
Easy to make and impressive enough to serve to guests. I followed previous advice and chopped the mushrooms very finely and pounded the chicken breasts, which were valuable suggestions. My guest loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
After reading all the reviews- I got so many ideas- I just went with them. I changed quite a few things and we were very pleased with the dish. Briefly; I sauteed onion, garlic, a vegetable broth cube, a splash of red wine, in with the mushrooms. I added a couple of tablespoons of sour cream in the stuffing mixture. I put a slice of asiago cheese over the rolled chicken breast, and topped it with a mixture of cream of mushroom soup and cream. Also added a few extra spices here and there. It is now in our "hall of fame" the tried and true regular recipes that we make all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
this was restaurant good!...even the kids couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This was easy and a super delicious. It makes a nice presentation too if you want to impress guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States