Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I would give the "version" that I made 5 stars. I used this recipe as a base, for what I was actually looking for in this recipe. I ended up cooking the mushrooms, in butter and white wine, along with minced garlic and onion. I butterflied and stuffed the chicken breasts. And then....I put a little butter in the pan, used for the mushrooms and added some cream of mushroom soup, cream and wine. I whisked these together and topped the chicken with the cream mixture. When the chicken was cooked, I poured off the cream/cream of mushroom mixture, back into the sauce pan....and added a little more ingredient to thicken it, into a gravy type sauce. It was AWESOME! I will definitely make this again...and play around with the ingredients. It just seemed too bland, topped merely with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I wanted to like this recipe. It was just... kinda bland. I found the technique of just "pouring" the wet ingreds made it... soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This was tremendously juicy and tender chicken! I just loved it! I substituted cream of mushroom soup for the cream, added garlic to the mushrooms and served over rice. Delicious! Definitely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This one's a keeper! I made it for my monthly "Lunch Bunch" group & everyone loved it. I did add finely chopped onions & sauteed them w/ the mushrooms for extra flavor. Next time I will also add some chopped garlic. I also added some of my favorite seasonings, like garlic pepper, instead of plain black pepper. I made sure the mushrooms were finely chopped in order to roll it into the chicken better. Definitely added to my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REEKAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. I must admit that I'm not patient enough for all the pounding and stuff so I just cut it half lengthwise, laid the mushroom mixture on one half, then closed it over. No toothpicks or anything. I added garlic and diced onion. The chicken was juicy, the filling was flavorful. What else can a busy mom ask for? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I'm going to have to work on this one. My family isn't used to nutmeg, so if I make this recipe again I will either cut it back to 1/4 tsp. or omit it all together. It was okay overall, just not what my family is accustom to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Oh Lord. We loved this one. I split my chicken breast in half and pounded down, added fresh basil and mozzerella (not shredded) on top of mushroom mixture. Used light cream and more nutmeg than suggested, I also added a little parmesan cheese to the cream. Delish. The chicken was so juicy and the mushroom stuffing was excellent. "Keeper" per my family and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Another Allrecipes success!!!!! I went against the reviews and coursely chopped the mushrooms. I felt by doing this the breadcrumbs wouldn't get lost in the mushroom mixture and it would give you a nice texture. Pounded my breasts to make it easier to roll. Instead of just throwing breadcrumbs on top before baking, I used the leftover mushroom breadcrumb mixture (more interesting). Upon first tasting the chicken, I was a bit disappointed but then I decided to try the sauce with the chicken. What two different tastes! Then, I added a splash of white wine and mixed it all together. Even better! I cannot wait to make this again. It was simple and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I can't rave enough about this dish. It was excellent and very easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Wonderful! Chicken was moist, stuffing very good. I pounded the chicken breasts to flatten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States