Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Yummy!!! I followed some of the suggestions made by others - added Onion, bread crumbs, veggy bouillion cube and red wine to the stuffing. I added thyme, paprika and black pepper to the bread crumbs. Rolling the chicken is a little tricky, and keeping it together was difficult until I started breaking the toothpicks in half and just tackinghte pieces of chicken closed. I used mushroom soup instead of the cream, and it was worth all the fiddling!!! I will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
After reading all the reviews- I got so many ideas- I just went with them. I changed quite a few things and we were very pleased with the dish. Briefly; I sauteed onion, garlic, a vegetable broth cube, a splash of red wine, in with the mushrooms. I added a couple of tablespoons of sour cream in the stuffing mixture. I put a slice of asiago cheese over the rolled chicken breast, and topped it with a mixture of cream of mushroom soup and cream. Also added a few extra spices here and there. It is now in our "hall of fame" the tried and true regular recipes that we make all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Excellent and surprisingly easy dish. I sprinkled the chicken with dried oregano, basil, and garlic powder which added a really nice flavor. I wasn't quite able to make it look like the picture, but it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I love this recipie. I do pound the chicken to flatten (this is easier if you cut lengthwise half way through the chicken in the thickest part). However the recipie takes no time to make and is beautiful. The cream thickens nicely and compliments the stuffing without any additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Great! The nutmeg made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
delicious! make sure you chop the mushrooms small enough so they dont fall out of the chicken. will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Very good! I took the advice of an earlier reviewer and sliced the breast in half instead of pounding it out. I also omitted the nutmeg. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Presentation was 5 stars, no doubt! What an easy way to make yourself look like you know what you're doing. Flavor was pretty good but the second time I made this, I upped the seasonings a bit and left out the nutmeg because it just wasn't to my family's tastes (thus the 4 stars). Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Read

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I would give the "version" that I made 5 stars. I used this recipe as a base, for what I was actually looking for in this recipe. I ended up cooking the mushrooms, in butter and white wine, along with minced garlic and onion. I butterflied and stuffed the chicken breasts. And then....I put a little butter in the pan, used for the mushrooms and added some cream of mushroom soup, cream and wine. I whisked these together and topped the chicken with the cream mixture. When the chicken was cooked, I poured off the cream/cream of mushroom mixture, back into the sauce pan....and added a little more ingredient to thicken it, into a gravy type sauce. It was AWESOME! I will definitely make this again...and play around with the ingredients. It just seemed too bland, topped merely with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I wanted to like this recipe. It was just... kinda bland. I found the technique of just "pouring" the wet ingreds made it... soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States