Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Very bland! The mushroom stuffing was OK (I added some garlic to it) but the plain cream sauce was so boring & tasteless. Needs much more flavour added. I didn't bother breading the chicken as I felt there was enough fat without adding the extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Very good. Added 2 garlic cloves, deglazed pan with wine, omitted nutmeg, mixed with mozerella cheese when done. Delicious! Cooked for 30-35 min at 375 Degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foresthill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I am a beginner cook and even this wasn't too hard to make! I added garlic and onion to the filling as others had suggested and it tasted great! I could not find bread crumbs so I crushed up some croutons instead. The only recommendation for someone making this would be to slit the chicken in 2 to make sure that the chicken is skinny enough to roll. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Taste was good, but next time I'll be sure to pound it out a lot thinner... Flavors went well, but it wasn't as robust as I would have liked. I like foods with a lot of flavor and more saltiness. Will make it again though, and figure out how to tweak it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
AWESOME! As we were eating, my husband asked me to put this in my "recipe diary" for future use. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
An excellent recipe. I put a quarter of a small onion, garlic clove and mushrooms into food processor which I spread on chicken along with feta with a tsp of poultry seasoning (basically sage). Took the esay root and just poured heavy cream and baked. My family ate a double batch. Thanks !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this exactly as MICHELLECA suggested and it was absolutely a five-star, fine restaurant quality dish! I minced the mushrooms and onions, and added some chopped garlic--cooked this in the 1/4 c. butter till dark, several minutes, then deglazed the pan with a splash of wine until it was absorbed and the mixture resembled a paste (added NO bread crumbs). I actually forgot about the nutmeg, but we didn't miss it. I pounded the chicken breasts to about 1/4" thickness, then rolled them up with the mushroom mixture. I coated the chicken with melted butter, then in a mixture of plain bread crumbs mixed with a couple tablespoons of Parmesan cheese. Poured the cream over, and then baked at 375 degrees rather than 350. I served this with green beans and "Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo," also from this site. Hubby specifically REQUESTED that we have the leftovers again for dinner tomorrow night! Thanks to both Jennifer and MICHELLECA for this fabulous dish. My suggestion?....please don't ruin this wonderful recipe with canned, cream of mushroom soup. Make it as the recipe directs, by just pouring the cream over all. It might sound unusual, but believe me, it turns into something truly wonderful, and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very simple to make. The chicken came out moist and the mushroom flavor was good. But next time I make it, I will add more spices and salt... the cream really neutralizes a lot of the pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
very good recipe. I forgot to brush the chicken with butter before rolling in bread crumbs but it still came out good. Very moist and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I prepared this dish tonight for a nice quiet dinner at home. Since there are only two of us, I halved the recipe. I did alter the original version and it still turned out wonderfully. My changes resulted from the realization that I was out of nutmeg and heavy cream. So, deciding to go in a more savory direction, I added finely chopped onion, fresh garlic, and a couple of dashes of dried basil to the stuffing. As some of the other reviewers suggested, I chopped the mushrooms up well so that they would reduce to a finer texture, which eased spreading in the butterflied, tenderized, chicken breasts. Since heavy cream was not available, I improvised by making a basic béchamel sauce. Before adding the flour and milk, I sautéed a very thinly sliced mushroom in the butter. I finished the sauce by stirring in about a tablespoon of dried basil before pouring over the stuffed breasts. I served this as shown in the photo, sliced into rounds with additional sauce drizzled over them; a beautiful presentation that tasted just as good as it looked. The warm tones of the basil playing against the savory mushroom onion stuffing were absolute heaven. This is definitely going into my regular rotation. Thanks for a terrific and inspiring recipe! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States