Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was great. It had a nice flavor and I gave it to my kids and told them that it was italian chicken. They ate it up without even being aware of the mushrooms. I actually stuffed boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of as wraps but the chicken still ended up juicy and tender. I might add some cranberries to the stuffing for next time as a holiday favorite for a turkey and I served it with walnut and raisin couscous. We'll definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I thought this was a very flavorful, moist dish, however, my daughter can't have lactaid, thus, we didn't use the cream and it turned out just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
After reading several pages of reviews I figured my alterations and proceeded. I give this a solid 4 stars with the changes I developed. ALTERATIONS: Finely diced 1/2# button mushrooms (would have used cremini if I had them). In 2 Tbsp butter, sauteed mushrooms with salt and pepper until most moisture cooked off. Added 1 medium minced shallot, 3 pressed garlic cloves, and 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning; cooked about 3 minutes to lightly soften the shallots/garlic. Added 1/4 C white wine and cooked until evaporated. Off heat, added 1/4 C panko and 1/4 C shredded asiago. Halved 2 breasts horizontally, salt & peppered, then filled & rolled with the mushroom mixture (4 rolls total). Placed rolls in a square pyrex dish, dropping remainder mushroom mix around them, and poured 1 1/4 C half-and-half over and around the rolls (fewer calories than cream). Topped the entire dish with another 1/4 C each panko and asiago. Pulled out after 30 minutes, removed rolls from the dish, and whisked 1/2 tsp of cornstarch to help thicken the sauce a bit. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
When I made these the first time, they were very bland and somewhat dry. I ended up freezing most, so I gave the leftovers a makeover when they thawed. I made cuts in each piece then coated them with a vodka sauce and sprinkled mozz cheese and baked until heated thru. It was much better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I did make a few changes as many others did do to dietary needs. I added 1 clove of garlic and a splash of pino grigio to the mushroom filling and decreased the amount of breadcrumbs to just enough to bind the mixture. I mixed cornflake crumbs and parmesan cheese for the coating and instead of using butter to coat the chicken I brushed on some olive oil. I used 1 can fat free cream of mushroom soup, 1/3 can white wine, 1/3 can fat free half and half, a pinch of nutmeg,and threw in a handful of sliced fresh mushrooms to make the sauce. It was sinfully good using the lower fat healthy ingredients and 1 chicken breast fed my husband and I. I served it with a side of spinach and whole grain bread. It was so economical, easy, healthy and delicious when you do a few change in ingredients. I can only imagine how good it would be the original way with the butter and cream but I had way too much of that over the Holidays and now must pay the price. Thanks for sharing I can't wait to share it with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was delicious - I love mushrooms - so I used 1 lb of mushroom and kept the butter to the same amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was really good. Instead of a rollup, I pounded two large chicken breasts down and placed them on top of one another with the mushrooms inside. I cut it into two inch sections to serve. My bf said it would go into his top three favorites dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sevans24

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I wish I had read other people's suggestions before making this one. I would definately suggest sprucing it up with some of the suggestions other people have submitted. I thought it was a little bit bland the way the original recipe is written. And I would either leave the bread crumbs out of the stuffing all together or reduce them greatly. They took away from the flavor of the mushrooms in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this the way MICHELLECA recommended. It was very well recieved and definitely something I plan on making again! I cut up the mushrooms and shallots in a food processor so it took nearly no time at all. I also used olive oil to coat the pan for cooking the mushrooms and shallots and to spread over the chicken before the bread crumbs (i prefer olive oil to butter, and it just seemed like so much butter!). The nutmeg is key. It gives it almost a middle eastern flavor. I served this dish with cous cous and roasted brussels sprouts which both looked attractive with the chicken and complimented the taste pretty well. When I make it next time, I think spinach would be a great addition to roll up with the chicken. I also think I would like to mix the cream with the leftover mushroom paste to pour over the top, since many people were scooping out the pan drippings to eat over the cous cous (I didn't say anything but I winced when I watched them chow down on cream and chicken drippings!). This recipe sounds like a weird mix but it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
So glad I found this one! I was making a different recipe off of this site (Chicken with Mushrooms), and I remembered how tasty this one was, but I wasn't sure if I had found it on AllRecipes or not. This recipe is delicious, definitely something you can serve to guests at a nice dinner party. Ends up looking and tasting fancy, but it's not too much work! The taste of it is so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States