Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
My husband loved this dish! I was so so about it. I changed the recipe up a bit. I sauted onions, garlic, and the mushrooms. I used baby portebella mushrooms they are usually more flavorful. Finally i substituted soy milk for heavy cream. Presentation is indeed impressive however, the chicken tasted a bit bland to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and I didn't like it too much. The chicken came out very moist, but the nutmeg was very overpowering. I filleted the chicken almost all the way through and laid it open to put the bread crumb mixture in it; that worked out well. If I make this again I will not use nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this recipe twice now. The first time I made it, I butterflied the chicken breast . The second time around I went ahead and took a mallet to it. Either way it tasted good but something must be done in order to roll the chicken breast effectively. The cream sauce was decent but definitely needs some more flavors added. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyLi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Excellent! This is my first review! I have made this recipe so many times now. Everyone who trys it loves it! My boyfriend is always requesting it! So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great stuff! I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquitamelanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This dish is delicious. I made some changes the 2nd time I made this recipe. Instead of bread crumbs, I used Panko with ground pistachio nuts mixed in. Also, I added some finely chopped shallots, onions & garlic (from Trader Joes) while cooking the mushrooms. I didn't add the bread crumbs to the mushroom mixture instead I added a small amount of cream sherry and cooked the mixture until the liquid was absorbed. Lastly, I added 1-2 tablespoons of cream sherry and a little bit of salt to the cream before pouring over the chicken. It is our new favorite meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeri0474

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Very good recipe. Takes longer than it states but it is good. Did not add the nutmeg and I used seasoned bread crumbs. As another person said -please don't use cream of mushroom soup. I used heavy whipping cream and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Wow, what a delightful recipe! I read a ton of review before making, and i only added a slight variation from the original. I cooked the mushrooms in butter with a tsp of cavendar's seasoning (i put this on mushrooms regularly) instead of what other reviews suggested. I also omitted the nutmeg. Make sure and pound out the breast very thin if you intend to roll it up. I attempted to half this, and i had way too much filling and so i made ugly chicken baskets stuffed full. I thought the bread crumbs were just fine in the filling, it tasted like mushroom rolls that my family loves! I will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Extremely delicious! Looks fancy without a lot of effort. I pretty much followed the directions as stated except, I used shitake mushroomas as my local grocery store is pitiful when it comes to produce. I also followed the one person who added the shallot and did the deglazing with the white wine. I put the cream on at the beginning of cooking, but would highly recommend doing it 10 minutes prior to completion in order to prevent curdling, still tasted great. As a side note, I had leftover mushrooms. So a few days later I made the mixture again but then added bleu cheese to it and stuffed it into hamburger and grilled them they were AWESOME!! Both the 2-year old boy and the husband liked them, UNBELIEVABLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I made a couple changes (of course) and it was delicious. Maybe better suited for a fall dish since it was kind of heavy. I sauted the mushrooms with red onion and grated zucchini (my kids are on a zucchini kick), added about a 1/4 c of cornbread stuffing mix since I ran out of breadcrumbs, and 1/2 c of freshly grated parmesean cheese. Then before plating I topped with a melted gouda redux (don't know what to call it- butter, gouda, milk, and some nutmeg). My two picky eaters got seconds :) This recipe was a very good base. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States