Mushroom-Stuffed Chicken Breasts in a Balsamic Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I had to change this recipe a bit since I only had fresh mushrooms, sherry vinegar instead of balsamic, chicken thighs instead of breasts, and I wanted more garlic. My hubby said the cheese wasn't too goaty, and the mushrooms weren't too strong - it was a nice balance. I would also recommend removing the bone - it's so much easier to eat. The biggest problem I had with this recipe is that well before the chicken was done, the skin burnt where it had been stuffed. I will definitely make this, or a slight variation, again, but I think it has to be covered until the last 5-10 minutes to prevent the skin from burning. 4 stars as written 5 stars if the skin didn't burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The reason the previous reviewers chicken burned is probably because she altered the ingredients without altering the cooking. Chicken thighs are a lot smaller and need to be cooked on lower heat. (BTW-The recipe DOES state to remove the bone). I made this almost as is except for the addition of re-constituted chopped sun-dried tomatoes that I happened to have on hand to the stuffing mixture. I also did not use dried mushrooms and as a consequence substituted veggie stock for the reserved mushroom stock in the recipe. Perfect recipe. Even my 7 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was a fantastic dish, and using boneless chicken breasts with the filling stuffed inside them makes for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Great recipe! I didnt use the reconstituted mushrooms and used chicken broth instead of water for the pan sauce, bf and partial vegitarian friend enjoyed as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I changed this a lot!!! For the filling only used fresh mushrooms and replaced the goats cheese with Parmesan. I used a chicken breast with no skin which I battered out then put the mushroom stuffing in the middle and rolled up. I then wrapped the rolled chicken in streaky bacon which I basted with the balsamic/honey sauce. Didn't bother with the pan sauce, just kept basting the chicken every 10mins or so. It ended up being a very lovely dish. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Did this dish for my girlfriend's birthday as she loves goat cheese. Made no change to the recipe - used Lobster dehydrated shrooms. The taste was to die for. Only warning might be to have aluminum foil ready to place on breasts near end of 45 min cooking period. Meat was cooked to perfection, but skin was a little more cooked than I'd like. HIGHLY recommended - P.S. Gravy was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I added mozzarella cheese, less than a hand full of fresh baby spinach leaves, and sun dried tomatoes to the filling. I served the chicken over a bed of mashed potatoes. It was to die for! My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was very tasty, but stuffing the chicken was time comsuming, next time I will just make a sauce with the ingredients and pour over sauted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Perfection! The sauce is to die for! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was a great recipe...I altered it a little in the following ways: 1. Used Boneless Chicken Breasts pounded flat and rolled up the mushroom mixture inside..needed about 10 minutes less cooking time this way 2. I added a little White Wine to the mushrooms and olive oil instead of butter 3. I used Mozzarella Cheese instead of Goat Cheese This was fantastic and is now a familty fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States