Mushroom-Stuffed Chicken Breasts in a Balsamic Pan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is a keeper! My husband HATES chicken but he "ate the whole thing." I followed the advice of others and used skinless/boneless chicken breasts; whole fresh mushrooms that I chopped myself, and substituted the cheese with Feta. Was careful not to over cook the chicken by cooking 25 min, but should have stuck with 20 ALSO, I stuffed the breasts and secured the stuffing with toothpicks. The honey/Balsamic juice that resulted after the cooking was thicken with just a bit of cornstarch. I served it with a spinach salad. This was so easy and SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I loved the stuffing and will incorporate it in more stuffed dishes such as pork chops and tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
huge hit in our house! I used skinless chicken breast, wich ended up making my dish a bit dry, next time, I will cook maybe only 25 minutes, and move it to the middle rack. also I didn't have dryed mushrooms, so I just brewed my fresh ports with boiling chicken broth and thme, for 20 minutes, then blended in my mixer, the taste was a 10 out of 10, I can not wait to try it again with my needed adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I am always looking for something new to cook and this one was great. The balsamic and honey tasted so much better than I imagined. Only change would be to maybe use feta cheese or a milder cheese. I do not care for goat cheese. That's all I could taste in the stuffing. And don't bother using a food processor, I minced my mushrooms myself and they were perfect. This recipe was easy to make. I even ate the leftover breast and I never eat left over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Soooo good! I used olives instead of dried mushrooms, rutabagas instead of the fresh mushrooms, 30W motor oil instead of olive oil, Venezuelan beaver cheese instead of goat cheese, and squirrel instead of chicken. OK, I'm kidding, but really, why do people post how much they love a recipe, then proceed to tell you how they completely changed it? It cracks me up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was one of the best meals I have ever eaten! My whole family LOVED it! I plan on making this meal very often. The only thing i did different was to use boneless chicken breasts and I just sliced them almost completely in half to stuff them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
My hubby and I have lost a bunch of weight, and we're always looking for new, tasty recipes that are within our caloric limits. This recipe totally exceeded my expectations! It was savory, flavorful and very, very good. I did six smallish chicken breasts. I never cook skin-on breasts, so I cut pockets and stuffed the mixture inside the breasts. I didn't use the food processor; I cut the mushrooms by hand. I had some left over, so I added it to the sauce I made from the pan drippings. This was AMAZINGLY good, and I didn't tweak the recipe itself really at all. I like to try it the way it is written first before I tweak it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY_ALETHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I tweaked this recipe a lot, but it turned out absolutely fabulous. 1) I had no dried mushrooms, but one pound of fresh. I put the fresh mushrooms, the garlic, 1/2 very large zucchini, and some chicken stock into the blender (added just enough chicken stock to enable the blender blades to move and mince the ingredients) 2) I made the sauce before basting. I used 1/3c balsamic, 1/3c honey, 1/8c chicken stock, splash of thyme, splash of savory, splash of orange juice, and garlic powder to taste. 3) I thinly sliced one scallion and one stalk of celery and sauteed them in 1 tbsp of olive oil. 4) I added the scallions and celery to the stuffing mix 5) I used skinless chicken breasts, just cut them in half lengthwise and stuffed them 6) I drizzled 1/2 of the sauce on top of them, ensuring the celery and onions were left on top of the breasts 7) I baked them at 400 for 35 minutes, checking often 8) I took some of the reserve sauce, boiled, removed 2 tbsp, and added 1 tsp cornstarch. 9) Added the cornstarch-mix back to the original extra sauce and let it simmer until thick 10) spooned the thickened sauce over the stuffed breasts when served 11) served with mashed potatoes and salad. It turned out fabulously. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was a great recipe...I altered it a little in the following ways: 1. Used Boneless Chicken Breasts pounded flat and rolled up the mushroom mixture inside..needed about 10 minutes less cooking time this way 2. I added a little White Wine to the mushrooms and olive oil instead of butter 3. I used Mozzarella Cheese instead of Goat Cheese This was fantastic and is now a familty fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Perfection! The sauce is to die for! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States